We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location ”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The main selling point of this hotel is the ideal location. With beautiful views of the mountains from the pool area, and at the quiet end of the main street, you couldn't get a better location.
The rooms are a good size but could do with a thorough clean, especially the bathrooms. The beds were large and comfortable with everything you need for a 3 night stay.
The staff were friendly enough, but there is not many of them, and they all seem to do everything. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, even though it was after our allocated check in time, but we were able to leave our luggage in reception and head out for a walk on the advice of the receptionist.
Breakfast was the main downside of the hotel. The choice was limited for a buffett, and they were very slow to refill things that had run out. Having to ask for coffee 5 times is not what I would expect from a hotel like this.
The town is beautiful and well worth a visit, and if you are looking for an ideal location to sleep in, and are going to spend most of your time exploring then I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    169
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
233
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Would have preferred two rooms rather than three that we had to pay for, for our family of five. The rooms were certainly big enough to have managed a roll- away bed for the third guest.
Will consider this accommodation only as a last resort in future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek fresh clean rooms with friendly management and staff that makes you feel welcome
Excellent food and room service
Will be a difinite return trip soon

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool and the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquibailey1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Protea Franschhoek for one night only (our original choice was flooded in the November storms). Very lucky to get a room at short notice on such a busy night of the year (New Year's Eve). We checked in early but rooms not ready. No problem, we left our luggage with reception and went for coffee and strolled up and down the shops. Returned to hotel to collect luggage and decide on what rooms we were having. All three rooms that we had booked were clean and comfortable if a little small. Didn't use the pool area but it looked ok. My only tip if you want to use the pool is get there early. There are not that many beds/seats and were taken by a large family group very early in the morning. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. I guess if one arrived when breakfast opened it would be ok but I wasn't that impressed to be honest. On the whole I would say Protea Franschhoek is a great hotel - perfectly situated, large car park, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

satisfied. Nice relaxing stay and above average hotel. Nice little relaxing pool area. Over charged when booking online. Hotel was advertised for 740 rand a night when we stayed there and paid 2.5x as much online 8 month prior. Beds are comfy and staff is average. It is a good location in a small town where you can walk to different wineries close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schef27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Protea Hotel Franschhoek. This was a great holiday with excellent rooms.
The most beautiful view of the mountains and around the hotel.
Excellent food in the restuarant.
Very happy & helpful staff at all times.
The village around the hotel has over 20 excellent restuarants plus many vineyards serving meals in the area
They even washed my car for me.
We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to New Year and were not disappointed - the hotel is easy to find and well maintained; as part of a large hotel chain it is clearly well managed.

The location is fantastic and you can leave the car in the large hotel car park whilst you walk to the centre of the shops and restaurants within 10minutes; Franschhoek is a stunning little place and well worth a visit. The many wine farms nearby all seem better than the next and so all in all you will not be disappointed.

We only ate breakfast here but it was a great selection and the staff are all wonderfully helpful; it may lack a little charm that you'd find at some private hotels or wine farms but all in all would be happy enough to stay here again in the future

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAAD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing