We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd annual visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our 3rd annual visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel perfect for small families. The pool is big enough for little ones, and the enclosed pool area gives peace of mind.

Breakfast is good and nothing is a problem for the new chef. Easing my wife's kiddy feeding burdens goes a long way to perfect my holiday. We'll be back - again

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dbobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    169
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
233
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rondebosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ok, so I am a Prokard member, this is a great way for Protea Hotel clients to get more involved with their hosts. It also allows us to travel more then what we would generally travel. So I have a bit of judgement to offer in this regard.
The hosts are brilliant at what they do! The rooms are fantastic!
The breakfast....no man guys! definitely not worth it! This is the worst Hotel breakfast I have EVER had! although first impressions last...the breakfast is the last experience clients have just before they leave...

Room Tip: All rooms look and feel great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our first hotel on a Saga tour around the Cape and Garden Route. A very nice place to stay with very nice rooms off the lovely courtyard and swimming pool area. Lovely and quiet. The food was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noggie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Although we arrived late at night the check-in staff was very helpful and checked us in speedily. The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel itself is quaint and fits in well with the Franschoek valley experience. Breakfast was enjoyabke - I especially enjoyed the variety of breads. Waiters were great - they were tentative to our needs. A lovely courtyard - best spot for me. Definitely a hotel to enjoy as part of the Franschoek holiday experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choisy-le-roi, France
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Staff was friendly and providing good advice on places to visit in the area.
Restaurants are walking distance.
The place is quiet, and has a nice view.
No big luxury in the rooms but good value for money.
Breakfast is good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willebroek, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We arrived late in Franschhoek without any hotel reservations made and luckily found this hotel having rooms left. Rooms are very basic giving out on the central swimming pool area. We got a discount on the room prices but still payed well over R 2000 which we thought to be very expensive for the accommodations (breakfast not included).
Not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is rated as four star. It is very good indeed. It has approximately 30 rooms in a "C" shape around a grassy courtyard and small swimming pool. The rooms are simple and spotless. The breakfast spread is very good for an establishment of this size and puts many of it's larger competitors to shame. The hotel has free WiFi (500 MB per day with a renewable password) that works just fine. The staff are very friendly and very helpful - when we arrived the air conditioning in the room we were allocated was playing up, but we were offered a new room without any fuss. I think the hotel would suit those who want a base to explore the surrounding wine country or people like us who are on a larger trip. The hotel is ideally located in town near the shopping/restaurant stripe.

Room Tip: The rooms numbered approximately 16 plus face west and get the sun most of the day. I think they cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing