We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Africa Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“South Africa Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June , the area is lovely and the hotel is in a good location at the start of the Main Street. The set up is around a central court yard with a nice pool area. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was good with polite and friendly service, the hotel was very quite when stayed, which was nice. The hotel has a tourist information service which was really helpful for booking wine tours and trips. We did the horse riding and wine tour which was excellent, a good ride through the vineyards and forest. The Wifi in the hotel was ok. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear chrisjohncox

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed yourself in Franschhoek and we hope to one day welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    165
    54
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
227
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a great night here, but the guests staying next to us were smoking on the balcony and it smelled as if they were smoking in our room. Great location in city center. Rooms were comfortable with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CESVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CESVA

Thank you for writing a review of you recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the smoke from next door.
It is certainly not very pleasant.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ideal for a weekend getaway or just passing through this beautiful area. We enjoyed visiting the following wine farms in the area: Backsberg, Moreson, La Motte and Colmant. Over weekends the town of Franschhoek gets very busy with an influx of visitors from the bigger towns and cities nearby.

The hotel is small enough so you never feel as if it is crowded. It has a swimming pool in the courtyard for the sunny summer weather. Ask the staff at the hotel to recommend a restaurant and book beforehand because there are excellent eateries in this town which fills up very quickly. Dutch East and Reubens are our favourites. Because this hotel is situated in the middle of the town, the restaurants are all within walking distance.

A drive up the pass north of the town gives you exceptional views of the town and the surroundings. The breakfast at this hotel was the best we've had in a long time - especially the freshly baked pastries.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side have great views of the mountains and those on the southern side are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BebeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear BebeSA

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful little town.

We hope to see you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our stay at the PHF way exceeded our expectation. I have to say that I found the suite very comfortable with a top grade sleep ( sheets, mattress super-comfy!) full bathroom with great amenities, mini bar, coffee facilities and with room service and two TV’s - it kept our boys busy! The breakfast was also outstanding! But what we really appreciated most was the service and willingness to help – the staff were great when our boy was hurt in his rugby game and they gave us extra time in our room, and were so helpful. They locked up our bikes, helped with luggage and couldn’t do enough to assist us.
Extremely good value for money, and right in town for easy access to any restaurants. I would recommend it to anyone, business or leisure travellers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jenni_S_12_12

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

We hope to see back again one day soon!

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We love staying at this hotel simply because it offers all we need and is clean and friendly and the rooms are great. The best part is that it is right in the town and everything is a short walk away...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Peter v

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea hotel Franschhoek.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I had a couple of nights here when doing the wine route. The room was spacious and clean but all rather tired. The service in the hotel was friendly rather vague. The breakfast was good but the night before we had sandwiches in the bar and my husband's was inedible. Location was excellent as you could walk to everything really easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear LindaD1961

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek, and thank you for the constructive feedback with regards to areas that need to be improved upon.
It is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
316 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Often stay at the hotel and are never disappointed. When you are in the culinary capital of South Africa, you don't want to eat at the hotel. Staff were friendly, as always and the room was clean. The position is just excellent and within walking distance from all the attractions. What I also enjoy, is that it does not have the hotel feel...

Room Tip: Room 25, always a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicotheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear RicotheGreat

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear from another happy customer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing