We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Franschoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Protea hotel for 3 nights.The hotel is well positioned in the central area of the town on the main road.all shops and resturants are within walking distance and one can find almost any of the general amenities close by.The hotel staff are very friendly and helpfull throughout.We stayed in a junior suite and the two rooms were large and spacious with an on suite bathroom.We never had any meals at the hotel as there are so many resturants in town that we decided to try them out..We enjoyed our stay,Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Brian475

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek. Thanks for the great review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Protea Hotel in Franschhoek. The rooms are neat, spacious and clean. It was the best value for money make no mistake, it is a beautiful hotel and all the shops are in walking distance. The lady from housekeeping is a special person and made us feel welcome from the start. The other staff were very friendly. I can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Amanda M

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I am thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time in Franschhoek.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very good, comfortable clean rooms with one of the best locations in Franschhoek, right in on the village Main street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear esta007

We are so glad to hear that you ad a good time while staying Franschhoek.

Thanks so much for the nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

During our most recent stay in the Protea Hotel, Franschhoek, our high expectations were met. As always, the staff were engaging and helpful and did their utmost to accommodate our room requirements. The rooms were clean and the overall impression that is created is that the hotel is competently managed.

For the above reasons, this hotel has become our first choice place to stay in Franschhoek. In addition we enjoy its close proximity to the varied attractions that the centre of town has to offer, the breakfasts are good, and the bar is a great place for a night cap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear RobinCape Town

It was so nice to have you back at Protea Hotel Franschhoek and I am so pleased that you once again enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks for being such a valued GUEST.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We received great service from start to finish.Janine at front desk was very polite and always helpful.

The hotel is very practically located.I was able to walk to any of the wonderful restaurants that was reccommended by the well informed staff members.

We were very impressed with the size and layout of the bathrooms in comparison to the room size. Bath on one side and very spacious shower on the other side.

My wife was very pleased when she asked about the hair salons nearby.Chanel (at front desk) offered to make an appointmnent for her or even get a stylist to do her hair in her room.

The hotel was very busy on the last day of our stay and unfortunately had run out of yoghurt by the time we arrived for breakfast (which was nearing the end of it anyway) We were very suprised when Donoval came to ask what flavour yoghurt he could go out and buy for my son.

Our overall experience was excellent when comparing the different aspects of the hotel to others we have been to. We travel extensively and have come to expect a standard of service from Protea hotels which was by far superceeded by the Protea Hotel Franschoek. So much so that we will return for a few days next week.

Wayne Conrad

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shafeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Shafeeka

Thank you so much for posting your very detailed review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoy the hotel and its STAFF.

We look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a very pleasant experience staying at the Protea Hotel, Franschhoek last week-end ( 2June - 4 June). The hotel facilities and rooms are very well maintained and clean, and a safe and easy walking distance to all the restaurants and village shops. I will recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Antoinette V

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you had such good time in Franschhoek.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in May for our 13th Anniversary... we checked in fairly late in the evening as we were travelling from Cape Town. We were welcomed warmly and made to feel at home...

The hotel is well situated - in easy walking distance from the many restaurants, art galleries & cute shops. It was really cold outside during our stay, so the well-functioning air-conditioner in our room & good duvet were very welcome.

Loved the fact that you can walk into town...anytime and you don't have to worry about safety! Very intimate and romantic place!

What surprised me more, was the good, superb quality of the food, especially the breakfast. The freshly baked croissants,scones etc!!...

I'd recommend at LEAST 3 nights and visit a local vineyard!
We visited Backsberg and Solms Delta which are an easy drive from the hotel...You could drink as much as you liked but after wine tasting all day, we couldn't drink a thing. Loved it!!


Lovely clean rooms, great service, friendly staff, excellent location. A definite reccommendation when coming to Franschhoek.... it's a real treasure.

The hotel was quiet and they made every effort to ensure we had a comfy stay.


I really enjoyed my stay. Will definitely go back!

Thanks
Ebinah Chauya

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Ebinah

Thank you for your review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek. it sounds like you really had a great time.

We hope to see you back soon!

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $123 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing