We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khupes' review”
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Corner House
Ranked #14 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone
1 review
“Khupes' review”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice place to stay - homely, quiet and comfortable. The only snag was that it was very cold at night and there were no extra blankets. The heater was not effective. We certainly will be back.Thank you :)



  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Khulekani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    103
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
192
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The atmosphere, thanks to the friendly hostess and the cute pets, was very welcoming and homely. The room was perfectly comfortable and the breakfast delicious.The location was within easy walking distance of the main street with excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect for what we needed - friendly, convenient and dog friendly..

Danielle and Dick were great hosts and able to advise on some amazing places to go in the vineyards.

We will definitely return to the cornerhouse




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saronno, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at The Corner House for 1 night during our South African trip: Franschhoek is a little gem and The Corner House is the perfect place to stay if you're visiting the Winelands!
Danièle is the perfect host: her warm welcome helped us to feel immediately like at home and she gave us a lot of good avices (about wineries to be visited in the Stellenbosch/Franschhoek wine routes and places to go for dinner)!
5 minutes walking to the city centre in a very safe area, private parking, good breakfast: we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedboy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

very good and friendly will come again clean room,no problems should have a radio in the rooms.use better heaters,staff very friendly,now i am wafeling,you want 48 more caracters what more must i say,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Magda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

For a splendid 5 star getaway look no further than The Corner House.
The hospitality shown by the hosts was second to none. The rooms were most comfortable and the breakfast provided was a brilliant healthy start to the day. I would recommend this accommodation to all travellers

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

On every level this is an excellent place to stay. The owners, Daniele and Dick, could not have been more gracious. The property has a lovely garden and pool; our room was comfortable in every way; and the breakfast with the various fresh choices (hot and cold) was delicious. Because of all this, we extended our stay and left knowing we will return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Property: The Corner House
Address: 5 Unie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, 6 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing