We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No title”
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Corner House
Ranked #14 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank scottishtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for The Corner House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a chance to spend a night at the Corner House, and we loved it!

Danielle & Dick were gracious and helpful hosts, a blast to spend time with, and tended to our needs as travelers.

The house is comfortable (stayed in the "luxury suite"), original, well-cared for, and gives a very special warm welcome. We especially loved the English bath, color-arrangement, and personal fireplace. The house is in walking distance to downtown, so it couldn't get more convenient. All the vineyards are but a short drive away (5-15 minutes)

If you have a chance to visit, Franschhoek ("French Quarter"), do so. The wine is not to be missed. When you're there, stay at the Corner House.

Room Tip: Pick the luxury suite. Its worth the upgrade. Private entrance, English Bath, etc.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spend a lovely weekend here. Our welcome was warm, the room was comfortable and spotless, and the food excellent. We were quite touched to come back on the Saturday evening to find the fire burning cheerfully in our bedroom fireplace - and a plate of fruit set out for us to enjoy.
The owner also arranged for us to hire a dvd from the local shop, on her name to make things easier for us. All in all it was 5 star treatment. Thank you - we hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: We chose the luxury room because we wanted a bathtub and a fireplace. I believe that the other rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank civharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was warm and cosy and our hosts were very helpful. Breakfast was good too. Convenient location, as we were able to visit wine farms and restaurants easily. Will be staying here again in the future for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe room in winter. It has a beautiful fireplace and heaters.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roccoco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We arrived in Franschhoek after traveling for a 1 1/2 weeks in South Africa - from Kruger to Cape Point and we were ready for some wine tastings, well that's what we originally why we choose Franschhoek as our last stop. We found so much more than wine. I don't think (actually I know) our experience in Franschhoek wouldn't have been nearly as memorable, authentic, eye-opening or enjoyable if we hadn't stayed at The Corner House (but really I like to say Danielle's house - the owner). This was the only place along our journey that we didn't really have a plan for. The first morning, after a cooked-to-order breakfast Danielle got to know us a bit more and from there helped us plan out our next couple days. We felt like guests at someones house, not a hotel. She helped us make arrangements for our stay there - from arranging a private horse back riding session for me to mapping our what wineries we should visit (made clear notes on the map). Over the next several days everywhere we went people seemed to know Danielle and only have good things to say - we came to realize she was a well known "local" and liked by pretty much everyone - even by those in the township - which I highly recommend figuring out a way to visit, it's a different side of South Africa that I found very eye-opening.

The focus of our trip was to experience South Africa and if that is yours than there isn't a better place to go in Franscchhoek. The Corner House is NOT the Four Seasons and that's exactly why we wanted to stay there - a place to get to know the locals and get the "real story."

The staff was accommodating and friendly, Danielle treats you like someone at her home and the decor, cozy fireplaces and atmosphere make you feel like you're visiting a friends cottage for the weekend. The Corner House has some corks and sure it was the dead of winter and it was cold but as soon as we spoke up about it the staff quickly attended to the problem.

So I highly recommend The Corner House unless you're looking for a fancy hotel, in that case stay in Cape Town because you'll probably miss the magic of Franscchhoek (or at the very least don't tell Danielle I sent you!).

Room Tip: Best Wifi of anywhere we went the entire trip!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The ideal vacation retreat - a beautiful, comfortable home in the village of that offers cute dogs, responsive service, the best breakfasts, useful hot water bottles, and most importantly, hosts who care that you enjoy your time there. Danielle extended a warm and enthusiastic welcome upon our arrival, and quickly arranged a late meal. As she learned our interests, she directed us to wineries, horseback riding, and restaurants that matched our tastes. She introduced us to several local community leaders that are making a significant positive difference in the lives of others living in the township. Danielle is a fun, high energy hostess who shares her passion for life and others in a most inspiring and unassuming way. This corner house is my new home when in South Africa.

Room Tip: With two twins, our room was small, but there were very comfortable common rooms, and other bedrooms...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

After an amazing few nights in Camps Bay we headed to Franschoek for a wine tasting experience. Arriving at the Corner House our thought where that the house was cute and old fashioned just like the rest of Franschoek.

We where greeted and shown to our room by Dick. The room was very cold and very dated, however it had all the requirements one needs. The fireplace was quickly lit and was pretty cool as we dont ever use a fireplace. It warmed us up nicely.

The house is situated just behind the main street which makes it easy to walk to all the cute shops and the ultimate restruant, The Common Room or the Tasting Room if you can afford!! When we got back to our room later that evening, Dick brought us some nice old school water bottles which was very kind of him.

In the morning, we packed up at 9am and we stood outside in the cold for half an hour as we where locked out of the main room where breakfast was to be served. We eventually knocked on a door up some stairs at the back of the house and Danielle came out. She was very embarrassed as she had over slept - however we had to hit the road and to start cooking breakfast would have taken too long. She apologised and then let us out the gate.

It was all very strange... However, Danielle did send me an email to apologise which I thank her for.

All in all, The Corner House is dated (1980's feel), cold and definately doesnt deserve 4 stars. I'm really not sure how it managed to ranked 4 star. Ive stayed in 3 star places that are much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fireplace in Winter as there are no heaters or any extra warmth and its VERY col...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyT-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 64 in Franschhoek
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#6 of 64 in Franschhoek
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#27 of 64 in Franschhoek
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 5 Unie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $58 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique, 7 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing