We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B - am a repeat visitor”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #4 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2010

One of the most charming places I have stayed anywhere in the world. A huge room and bathroom, combined with a lovely owner, stunning views, great breakfast and a warm welcome, this is a perfect B&B. This is my second visit in a year and Annette, the owner, is always attentive and interested in my plans (and never short of helpful advice). The room is incredibly comfortable and little things like a DVD selection, a nicely stocked fridge with breakfast (in these winter months) and drinks, good toiletries and bath robes all raise this above the competition. I'll be back for the comfortable bed, heated bathroom floor and the sense of home soon enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaileyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 614 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

The best place we stayed in South Africa by far! Annette and Barry, the couple that owns the cottage and lives in the adjacent house, were extremely helpful and attentive. We started corresponding by email with Annette about a month before we arrived in South Africa, and she did everything from making restaurant suggestions and dinner reservations, to advice about activities in Franschoek, to driving directions. When we arrived in Franschoek we felt immediately at home – the cottage is beautifully decorated and surrounded by peaceful and fragrant rose gardens and views of the surrounding mountains. We were invited each evening to have a drink with Annette and Barry and were able to learn about Franschoek, its people, and how we should best spend the rest of our time in South Africa. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!! Our experience was far superior than any other place we stayed in South Africa, and unique in that there is only one room for guests. This allowed for great attention to detail and a personal touch. It’s in a great location – walking distance from most of the local restaurants and shopping area. By the way, awesome bathtub and heated bathroom floors!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tevaman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

After a rather frenetic time in Cape Town it was a real joy to arrive at the haven that is Annette and Barry's. Despite suffering from a hideous cold, Annette made sure she was there to greet us (in dressing gown and crocs) and what a delight she was - we have rarely been made to feel more welcome.

The room was huge yet cosy (it was pouring with rain for pretty much the entire time we were there) and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was just lovely...particularly during those night-time trips to the loo!

Rarely could a stay be so special and you be made to feel more welcome. Annette and Barry are charming - their menagerie of animals a delight and their home simply beautiful. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We loved it here so much at Christmas & New Year we returned at Easter. The Garden House is fantastic. Annette & Barry are wonderful owners & great company to be around. The value for money, sleep quality & location are all first rate. The service & cleanliness are excellent. We think its well worth 5 stars & highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip there.

Its understandably very popular accommodation so our travellers' tip is book early to avoid missing out on this South African Gem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

SA seemed like the most perfect destination for our honeymoon, and it turned out to be exactly that! We vistied CapeTown, Knysna, Outshoorn, Jo'Berg, Suncity but our most memorable and romantic time was in the lazy, sunny, scenic, picture perfect franschhoek! We had the best food, the best wine and the best stay thanks to the best hosts-Annette and Barry!
Annette put us up at the yard, which turned out to be the most ideal apartment for a newly wed couple. It was cozy, trendy and right in the centre of the village. Annette has the uncanny way of making you feel right at home and treated us like kids!
Her recommendations for restaurants, places to see, wine estates were top notch and we highly recommened a visit to the garden house when you are in the cape!
Sapna and Karan
Mumbai, India

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

From the moment we arrived, we knew that we had hit upon a special place in Franschhoek. Incredible views, tastefully and beautifully decorated cottage, and friendly dogs and cats, we were very happy to have this as the first stop of our long awaited trip to South Africa. Most importantly though, and what sets the Garden House apart from any other pretty B&B is the genuine, easy company and hospitality of Barry and Annette. We were expecting something different, having read the reviews, and we found it. Cant recommend it highly enough, though only if you enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace with new friends, watching the sun go down, and a delicious breakfast accompanied by gentle chat and a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob_and_zo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Our arrival to Franschhoek was a super surprise, coming over the Mountain Pass we thought the first view of this pretty Town was breath taking. On arrival at The Garden House we were met by Annette who immediately made us feel welcome and within ten minutes we felt like family! Especially as we got lots of lovely welcoming wags from her dogs. The Garden House is separate from the main house which gives you that added privacy but with the most stunning breathtaking views of the garden and mountains.
The Room is large and it is not often the owner leaves a bottle of wine and soft drinks for free which were cooling in the fridge. The Bathroom is roomy with a great power shower and a luxury bath. Breakfasts were brilliant with sweet and savoury options - more European than other Guest Houses which we liked. Annette has many great suggestions for places to visit in the area and recommended some of the best Restaurants in South Africa that we have eaten in, we could not believe the high standard of Franschhoek Restaurants. To top it all off Annette and Barry kindly invited us to join them at their Film Night which gave us an insight to life in their Town and we met lots of lovely locals who embraced us for the night. What a great few days and we certainly cannot wait to re-visit this lovely Town and would not stay anywhere other than in The Garden House with Annette and Barry. If only to smell their lovely roses and pat the dogs and feed the ducks who visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKKIHERTFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#6 of 64 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing