We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect location in Franschoek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“The perfect location in Franschoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed in this amazing guest house during our honeymoon. From the very first contact with Annette, I knew we were heading somewhere special. She supplied me with a list of recommended restaurants in the area, which true to fashion I promptly forgot about. But Annette, the ultimate host provisionally booked us into a restaurant for our first night (a Saturday) incase I had forgotton to do so (I had), and what a restaurant!!!
Annette and Barry couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. The accommodation is spacious, comfortable with a huge bathroom and a small fridge stocked with beer and soft drinks free of charge. The breakfasts are sumptious, served on their stoop, overlooking their amazing garden and the mountains of Franschoek with the birds and house cats and dogs for company.
We accompanied Annette one afternoon to the local township too feed the dogs and cats - an amazing experience that we will never forget.
To summarise - If you're going to Franschoek - stay at the Garden House- You won't regret it.
Thank you Annette and Barry for making our time in Franschoek so memorable.
John and Lara.

  • Liked — Amazing hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thwwhiskeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
506
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

After spending some days in Cape Town, my wife and I headed to Franschhoek to enjoy superb food and excellent wine. We found both and much more at Annette and Barry's Garden House. They were perfect hosts and made us feel at home. The place is very comfortable and welcoming, with a magnificent extra-large bath we enjoyed very much. We can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOOrmeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

What a great way to see the winelands!! The room is amazing with a fantastic bathroom. Annette and Barry are the perfect hosts and make you feel right at home. We must return in the summer to make the most of the pool!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dunsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed a night in the Garden House in Februari and quite enjoyed it. Room comfortable, lots of animals around. Breakfast was ok. Hosts are very nice and caring.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — animals
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank he1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

Spent an overnight at The Garden House in their spacious and lovely guest cottage. The cottage is very well equiped with luxury linen and bath products in the huge, luxurious bathroom featuring a tub for two and plush bathrobes. There's a tea tray with cookies and a fridge stocked with complimentary beverages as well as heat and aircon. As we were there in the winter, the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a real plus!

We didn't get the breakfast as Annette (the owner) doesn't do it in the winter. But she did supply youghart, granola and coffee for us in our room and had warned us in advance.

Annette and Barry are part of the appeal -- very interesting people who are happy to take the time to offer you a sundowner on their veranda and chat. They have two dogs and many cats who wander around.

We plan to stay there again!

  • Liked — Luxurious touches, location, hospitality
  • Disliked — No breakfast available in winter
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Smosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

We arrived late to find Annette waiting for us by the gate. The room (they only have one room that they let out) was ideal and we relaxed at once - the more so after a very large G+T! We stayed for 2 nights, slept like logs and went home relaxed. I was tempted not to put a review on this site in case the room is taken next time we want to stay - but hey one has to be honest. This is the first place that we will want to stay when we go back next year.

  • Liked — Personal attention
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ukballoonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

Annette & Barry's Garden House has got to be one of the most comfortable, welcoming & best value places to stay in Franschhoek. We can't recommend it enough.
They did everything to make us feel like friends in their home rather than just guests. Their knowledge of the town and contacts/friends in all the right places make them the best possible guides.
We loved the fact that the cottage is quiet and private, surrounded by a spectacular garden, plus we were the only couple staying, which all guaranteed a truly relaxing experience.
The big bed was so comfortable we are considering buying the same one for ourselves, and the bathroom is luxurious with under-floor heating for a touch of class.
We will definitely be going back later in the year and next time hope to take our dog Alex to play with Benji & Noodle!
Thanks to Annette & Barry

  • Liked — Comfortable cottage
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_AndyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing