We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt we where staying with family rather than at a guest house. We stayed 4 nights in the cottage, which was lovely, very large bedroom and equally large bathroom.
We had breakfast in the morning overlooking the mountains, wonderful views. The breakfasts are great and Annette is a wonderful hostess. On 2 evenings they invited onto there patio to have drinks before going out to dinner. On one occasion I remarked on the creamed horseradish that I put on my smoked trout. On leaving she gave us a jar to take home.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and should we return to SA we shall definitely return to the Garden House.

Room Tip: They only have 2 rooms, one in there own house, and a separate cottage where we stayed and which I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Gardenhouse for one night, and it was way to short. We should have stayed for at least 2 nights at this beautiful, countryish, romantic guesthouse. Annette (one of the owners) also recommended us to stay longer and she was right. The house has a lovely veranda where breakfast is served. First, you get fresh fruit, yogurt and homemade muesli - after the first 'course' you get feshly baked bread, croissants, a selection of cheese, meat well everything you wish for. The lovely cute dogs and cats will keep you company all the time, as they are part of the family in this guesthouse. There is a swimming pool, but when we stayed at the gardenhouse, it was a bit cloudy so we did not swim. Our room was clean - with its own ensuite bathroom. Annette arranged a booking for us at a nice place where we could eat some small bites- as we already lunched several courses - and she reserved tickets for us at the romantic little cinema in the heart of Franschhoek. Staying at The Gardenhouse really feels as comfortable as being at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireVintges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I began searching in January for accommodation in the Cape and upon reviewing guest houses in Franschhoek on Trip Advisor we came across the Garden House. Like many of the reviewers we were impressed by the many "excellent" ratings the Garden House had received but it was when I clicked on their website that I knew this was the place we would want to stay... "The Welcoming Committee" as so named on the website was already welcoming me just from their gorgeous little faces on the website. Upon our arrival we had MANY welcoming faces, including Annette, Barry, Benji and Marmaduke and to our surprise some more friendly faces by the names of 'Busy' Lizzy, Tonto, Monster AND Charlie! We felt blessed to have stayed at such an amazing guest house, it was like we were staying with family - Annette was a true mommy and made sure we were comfortable in EVERY aspect. She ensured that we were well fed and even one night when we decided we did not feel up for going to dinner she prepared some cheese and crackers for us (It is these extra touches that distinguish a WONDERFUL guest house to that of an ordinary one), my husband and I both got handed a hat to protect ourselves from the sun (as we had forgotten ours) we were loaned DVD's, a cooler bag for our water and if there was any necessity that needed attending too, Annette was there. Apart from the wonderful hosts, the cottage is a wonderful room for ones stay. A magnificent, large bathroom prepared with warm fluffy towels, candles and underfloor heating (everything to enjoy a relaxing bath) and a very comfortable bed. My hubby and I don't manage to sleep in a lot but at this delightful place managed to sleep in (what a treat!), the room is of a very comfortable size equipped with delicious coffee and cookies and everything else you may need on a vacation is there, including umbrellas! :) Annette tried to warn me about the large breakfasts received during the warm months, and I can really recommend to future guests not to even bother booking lunch as the breakfast was large enough to keep you going through the day; we were spoiled with choice of cheeses, croissants, toasts, breads, jams, fruit, muesli, cereal, salmon and cured meats.We loved EVERYTHING about this guest house and anyone who chooses not to stay here is doing themself in! Thank you to the ENTIRE family of the guest house, we cannot wait to return! P.S. My kitties love the Dreamies :P

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Friendly welcome. Immaculate room. Close to the main street but in a quiet residential area but close to restaurants. Would stay again like a shot. Also very reasonably priced in such an expensive place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the garden house based on trip advisor recommendations and it was fantastic. Annette and Barry are wonderful hosts and have thought of everything, stunning location and we were able to walk into town to restaurants as well. Breakfast can't be beaten the array of fresh fruit was amazing. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahj198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Dear Mum
I bought a postcard to send from Franschhoek but lost it so I am resorting to e mail.
Franschhoek is Gods country - stunning scenery, sensational eating and an abundance of wineries. We have been staying at The Garden House, a detached house in a quiet and sunny hillside location with a beautifully furnished and spacious bedroom, and an exquisite en suite bathroom with double ended bath, large shower and his and hers vanity wash hand basins. We are three or four minutes walk from the village and the views over the cottage garden and swimming pool to the mountains are unbelievable. All fab - you would love it !
We take breakfast each morning on the veranda of the main house, taking in the view - if only I could bottle it and sell it ! To say breakfast is extensive would be an understatement. Cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice, yogurt, smoked trout, cheeses, cold meats, croissants, toast, tea and coffee.
So what really makes it 5 star ? The hosts, Annette and Barry, both real characters who can't do enough for you. Lifts arranged, laundry sorted if you need it, reservations made, advice on where to eat / walk / go. They say arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. We felt we were leaving as relatives !
We won't better this as we wander around the Western Cape.
See you soon.
Love Jon and Sue
ps They have large postcards here !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, and enjoyed the regular morning cycle trips with Barry. The perfect way to start a day! Fresh air, surrounded by breath taking scenery, a bit of a sweat and ready for all the wine-tasting!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frederick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing