We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More friends than hosts”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Wonderful!!!
We were here the second time,and felt like coming to very good friends!
Annette is a great host,very good connected ( dinner reservations!) and has a lot of good recommendations.
The house is beautiful,calm and they have a great pool!
You have always a nice cat or dog around you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for The Garden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 610 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed two wonderful nights with Annette and Barry in January and our only regret is that we did not stay longer. The bedroom and bathroom in the garden house are very large and well appointed. The breakfast on the balcony was really memorable and all the more welcome after an early morning bike ride with Barry! The beautiful garden and pool provided a welcome refuge from the heat. We would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacbartat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The house is near the top of De Wet Street, close enough to the main road to walk, far enough from it to enjoy the tranquility of the unique and beautiful town of Franschhoek. Annette makes the concierge at the Ritz look like an amateur. Based on her authoritative précis of Franchhoek eateries, that was emailed to us in anticipation of our trip together with a note on the Summer Wine Festival, she managed to secure reservations for us at Le Quartier Francais for dinner and then Sunday lunch at La Petit Ferme. The house and magnificent garden is in immaculate condition. Annette and Barry are exemplary hosts. The breakfast would put the offerings of many of the hotels in the winelands to shame. We will most certainly return. Regularly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwickvb v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the beatiful Garden House! The host really made our small family feel welcomed. They went the extra mile in order to help us with all out request. The afternoon spent in their garden with their lovely pets is a nice memory.
Absolutely breathtaking view of the mountains and a super fresh and cool interior in the lovely cottage. Thank you so much for taking care of us, we will come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FruGooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at The Garden House on a tour of South Africa. Annette and Barry made us feel so welcome as did the dogs! The pool in the garden was a little slice of paradise and with a 3 course breakfast thrown in, the stay was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timstravels213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a privilege to stay in this lovely "cottage" with a nice bathroom. This was actually a small house just for us. There is a beautiful garden, pool and nice veranda to sit back when the sun goes down (and have supernice breakfast and sundowners too). With a great company of Annette and Barry. We felt so welcome with them. Annette booked us nice restaurants in advance and gave good tips about the area. Don´t hesitate to ask if you need help planning your stay, you might get restaurant recommendations even in Swellendam ;-) If you need a peaceful place in Franschhoek without worries, this warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pihtsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Garden House, the beautiful home of Annette and Barry - such a warm, entertaining and friendly couple who are so knowledgeable about the local area, restaurants etc etc. We were immediately welcomed into their home as if we were old friends. Annette's breakfasts and Barry's gin & tonic sundowners on the stoep were superb - you also have to try the iced tea!!! The location is great for walking into the village to the excellent restaurants and quirky shops, and just a short drive away from the many wine estates. Their garden is tranquil with breathtaking views and a beautifully clean pool. We didn't want to leave, but will return on our regular visits to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $118 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing