We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberb experience again...!”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Suberb experience again...!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After two years we were able to come back to the Garden House again. As with every second visit there is always that feeling: “will it be that great again or is it somewhat disappointing this time?”

We can certainly tell that our second stay was as great, and if possible, even better than our first time! The lovely room, beautiful surroundings, world class garden, the adorable dogs and cats, the perfect hosts and one of the best breakfasts in the world! Annette was able to help us (again) with reservations for the best restaurants in town! The location is perfect, in a quite area of Franschoek, but close and safe enough to walk to all the restaurants in town. Pretty convenient in the Wine-area!!

After telling some great news from our side, Annette immediately opened up a bottle of bubbles! We fell in love again with the dogs Benji and Lizzy and were even allowed to take them for a stroll around the town and felt the experience of being a citizen of Franschoek!
It was indescribable again and if there is an opportunity for a third visit we know for certain were to sleep in Franschoek!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitcase920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in early 2012. Given its already high tripadvisor rating you can't really call it a hidden gem but it was one of the highlights of our Cape Town / garden route tour. We stayed in the small room in the house as we booked fairly late. Room very comfortable size so would not be put off by this as an option. In summary a beautiful secluded spot (but only a short walk from centre of town), top notch hospitality - great breakfast / local eating and drinking tips and overall excellent value for money vs hotel alternatives

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our first visit and we agree with all the positive comments made by previous reviewers, as we were missing our cat, left in UK at the "Moggie Motel" we loved being visited and taken over especially at breakfast by two of Annette`s cats Marmaduke and Charlie! We had such a good time that we are planning a return visit. Thank you Annette and Barry for a fabulous four nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMyra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

As all other reviewers mention, Annette and Barry were wonderful hosts at their beautiful tucked away home in Franschhoek. The room is very spacious with a beautiful bathroom, with anything you might need. Also, they serve a delicious breakfast with a view that is unbelievable. My husband and I loved every moment at the Garden House and in Franschhoek and cannot wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Annette and Barry are fabulous hosts, interesting and interested people, the room is wonderful and the breakfast is as much fresh fruit and coffee as you could consume as well as delicious cheeses, breads, pastries, cold meats and trout. Served in fabulous pottery which I loved so much that on Annette’s recommendation I took a trip to Wonki Ware and stocked up with as much as my suitcase would allow! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Garden House, and our evening gin and tonics on the veranda thanks Annette and Barry.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharineHaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-thames
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was our third stay and the Garden House was as good as ever. If you consider they only have 2 rooms it is extraordinary the number of excellent tripadvisor reports they get.
For us it's the kindness of Annette and Barry, the lovely peaceful garden and the excellent breakfasts that make it special.
The only words of warning are that you have to like cats and dogs as they really run the place.

Room Tip: There's the cottage and a room in the main house. The cottage gives more space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Garden house is beautiful. It's a home from home for us as we are from the UK like Annette and Barry who are the owners and hosts of this wonderful warm and homely B&B. You immediately feel a sense of comfort as you pull into the drive and peer at the lovely white and pale yellow house through the beautifully kept garden which is full of plants and flowers some growing high around the gates and front lawn. We stayed in the room inside the house which was very sweet with soft bed, lovely furnishings such as pictures and paintings/photographs and little touches that made you feel like a guest in a family home which was a delight (Free cookies too). Annette gave us a map straight away with recommendations of all the wineries to visit as we were only there for one night we quickly went off and worked our way through the list !! All were great recommendations. Annette also booked us in for dinner at a local favourite restaurant and the breakfast in the morning was delightful and very healthy with lots of smoked trout, meats and cheeses which were fantastic, lots of lovely fruit including melons, pineapple, berries and freshly baked croissants, cinnamon sticks and bread. We enjoyed the gorgeous views over the garden overlooking the mountains ahead on the veranda. Lizzy and Benjy are their pet dogs who are very friendly and their are some lovely cats that enjoy the sun in the garden as much as we did. I would highly recommend Garden House to anyone who wants a very homely and personal stay in Franshhoek. We are a couple (aged 29 and 32) and I think it appeals to all. This was my favourite place in South Africa for the personal experienced and we are a very well travelled couple. I felt instantly at home and missed Annette when I left after only one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing