We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even dreams can come true..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Even dreams can come true..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Franschhoek is our favorite place in south africa, and the garden house is by far our best experience ever. Its not very easy to discribe the wonderful days we had at the gardenhouse.
but I'll try.
Starting with the hosts, Annette and Berry. It's not very common That you experience the feeling of being part of the family. Thanks for being your guests. Annette you are à suberb warm women, helping All your guests with advise (eating, tips, bookings, even chauffeuring your guests restaurants). Annette and Berry invites us for drinks at sunset, lovely. Annette is helping the community with feeding street cats and dogs. Thanks we could help with That just à little.

The cottage is lovely, free in à Nice garden, perfect. The views of The mountains are So Nice. We enjoyed The best breakfast ever on The verandah. Salmon trout was so Nice (also for marmaduke).

personal note:
@Annette: when we come back we definitly want to help you again with the dogs and Cats'. Thanks for being yourself.
@Berry: Next time we "ll join you for à Nice trip with the mountainbikes.

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemcoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
510
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in March and what a time we had. Amazing hosts, superb house and setting, and the food and drink - unbelievably good! Annette and Barry made us feel so welcome, it was like staying with your best friends.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JandGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we think back to Franschhoek and The Garden House we I can't help but getting emotional and thank Annette and Barry for the wonderful staying we had there.
Amazing food and locations suggested by the owners of this beautiful house, which really feels like home away from home.
Also to mention the great welcome committee, all beautiful rescued animals! Amazing!

We will definitely recommend this place and we will be back soon!
Grazie mille Annette and Barry, you have been wonderful.

Michele and Beatrice

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleBenigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hosts - as others have said they make you feel like old friends, not paying guests
Great Breakfast
Lovely gardens
Fabulously equipped
So friendly
Great Location

All in all perfect
One of the nicest places we have ever stayed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-Howlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with Annette and Barry at their lovely guest house. It was our favourite place in South Africa. Franschoek itself is really lovely and the wineries are great to visit. The accomodation at The Garden House was first class. We had a beautiful room with a huge bathroom and lots of space. The Gardens surrounding the house are absolutely beautiful. Our hosts Annette and Barry was incredibly welcoming and friendly, it felt like we were visiting family and they really looked after us by helping with dinner reservations and recommendations of things to do. Barry took my husband cycling which was huge bonus for him! This place is great for animal lovers and those who appreciate a nice garden! All in all, it was a fantastic stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schelle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great welcome. You really feel at home in this small but very well situated guesthouse.
If you make choice, go for the cottage.
The breakfast is one of the best we have come across during our holidays in SA.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlethaKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Obviously it's hard to say whether the Garden House really is the best guesthouse in all SA since we've not been to them all! However this must surely be in the running. Having stayed in 4 others during our Honeymoon in various other locations though, this was definitely the best we stayed in.

We were warmly welcomed by Annette with a glass of wine and a beer and showed to the beautiful cottage for our two night stay. Whilst the main house is also lovely, do book the cottage if it is available as its definitely worth the small extra cost.

The cottage is spacious, very comfortable, clean and beautifully finished. Breakfast was a treat: the homemade muesli was superb (we never did work out the secret ingredient) and the trout delicious.

Take Annette's recommendations on where to eat and what to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed Ruebens and against Annette's advice went to the The Tasting Room at Le Quartier. Whilst OK, we wouldn't go again, definitely not given the other choices available and the very high cost.

Another recommendation was Lynx vineyard which was wonderfully small and personal. We also thought Anthony Rupert was excellent. These two vineyards offer a contrast in terms of size and scale and made for a fabulous afternoon's tasting.

Annette couldn't have been better in terms of communication before arrival and hosting us. It was the very best way to start our Honeymoon. Franschoek has proven to be our favourite place on Honeymoon. We will be back, timed to ensure we can stay at the Garden House again.

Thank you to Annette, and we hope anyone reading this will enjoy staying with her as much as we did - sure you will!

Alexandra & Mike

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMike1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteSouthAfrica, Owner at The Garden House, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Many, many thanks for this lovely review. I’m so glad your Honeymoon got off to such a flying start at The Garden House and wish you all the very best for a wonderful future. I really do appreciate your kind words. However, I did not advise against The Tasting Room. It is on our list of recommended restaurants sent to all our guests. Although we have not eaten there, over 50% of our guests do so and almost all of them are absolutely delighted with the experience and for the opportunity of eating in a restaurant that is consistently included in S.Pellegrino’s list of The World’s 50 Best Restaurants and rated as The Best Restaurant in The Middle East and Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing