We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garden House
Nearby Hotels
$313
$283
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$169
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$136
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$386
$344
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$495
$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$751
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveler rating
617
9
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
9
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoked troutcats and dogsannette barrywonderful hostsanimal loversgin tonicevening drinkssouth africaold friendsnothing is too much troublehome away from homehighlight of our tripbeautiful cottagedelicious breakfastfresh fruitwestern capelocal knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 631 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this cute little B&B in late November. A beautiful place close to everything and still very relaxing and calm. Annette & Barry are truely the best hosts and there wasn’t a question that they could not have answered. Annette even went so far as helping me to book our next B&B. You are always greeted with a smile. The breakfast is amazing, the best during our visit to SA. Thank you Annette & Barry! We highly recommend this wonderfull B&B to everybody travelling in/through Franschoek. We will definitely come back when next time in South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 for 2 nights at the end of our trip around the Western Cape and had the most lovely weekend. The cottage was beautifully decorated, with a luxurious bathroom equipped with an enormous bath and shower. Annette and Barry were wonderful hosts, and we really enjoyed spending time with them in their wonderful garden, chatting over a cup of tea while the sun set over the hills. Annette also provided delicious breakfast treats and was very generous and helpful at every opportunity - even squeezing us into a apparently fully booked local restaurant!

We really felt part of the family, and it felt like a home away from home (which for us was just what we needed). Even Benji the dog provided us with much entertainment!! Thank you both so much for your hospitality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cottage is a must!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 2 nights during the Champagne festival.
We had booked the cottage which proved to be even more beautiful than on the already nice pictures. The Garden House was definately the most beautiful and luxurious B&B out of the 5 B&B where we stayed during our 2 week vacations.
Annette and Barry care a lot for their guests and like to join them for a talk during breakfast and cocktail hour. We enjoyed these talks with them, but if you are rather left on your own, you should look for a bigger B&B or a hotel.

Our evaluation in detail:

B&B and location:
(+) beautiful B&B in 19th century style
(+) in a quiet street
(+) parking on property
(+) Franschhoek main street with shops and restaurants is a safe 10 min walk
(+) midsize pool with sunbeds, good place to relax

Room:
(+) we had the cottage, a very large room beautifully furnished
(+) huge & modern bathroom with shower and bathtub
(+) comfortable bed, not too soft
(+) fridge with complimentary drinks (soft drinks, beer)
(+) complimentary tea and coffee maker
(+) TV with DVD and DVD collection

Breakfast:
(+) fresh fruits
(+) continental breakfast with locally smoked trout, cheese, marmelade
(+) breakfast served on terrasse with great view

Service:
(+) Plenty recommendations about what todo
(+) Help with booking restaurants, even send list with recommendations in advance
(+) complimentary bicycles
(+) free WiFi
(+) complimentary drinks

Room Tip: Book the cottage - its a little more expensive, but really big with a huge bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerChr1st0ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Franschhoek in mid December and stayed for two nights. If we could, we'd be back there right now.

We stayed in the cottage which we found to be warm, luxurious and very comfortable. Right from high quality linens to heated floors & towel racks to a large comfortable bath tub the attention to detail was phenomenal. Small touches like not charging for what you consume from the mini bar make you feel quite at home.

Annette and Barry are outstanding hosts and phenomenal people. They go to great lengths to ensure you feel at home. We went out for dinner together and spent a lovely evening listening to some classical British humour and getting to know each other. They really ensure that you are well looked after and experience Franschhoek in the same way they do- for e.g. Annette would make restaurant reservations for us ensuring that we had the best tables in the house.

While the rooms are comfortable, its the breakfast that really takes centre stage with fresh fruit juice, yummy homemade muesli, smoked trout, ham, cheese and the choicest fresh fruit. Annette's breakfast is unparalleled. Combined with the South African Jazz playing in the background, the crisp morning air and wonderful views of the valley it really is a wonderful experience.

The Pets are an integral part of the Garden House. Benji (the dog) is very gentle and well mannered and the cats are fun to play with.

Overall, The Garden House was one of our best experiences on this trip and we will be back soon. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NehaVMaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A beautifully restored Victorian bungalow close to the center of Franschhoek village with very friendly and helpful hosts, Annette and Barry Philips. The main accommodation is a detached guest cottage, which was unfortunately not available the day we arrived. We stayed in a perfectly comfortable if smallish double room with en suite bath in the main house. The breakfast included excellent cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and yoghurt. A fine choice in what is perhaps South Africa's most picturesque wine town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews