We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious B&B, perfect for a relaxing stay in Franschhoek”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious B&B, perfect for a relaxing stay in Franschhoek”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 2 nights during the Champagne festival.
We had booked the cottage which proved to be even more beautiful than on the already nice pictures. The Garden House was definately the most beautiful and luxurious B&B out of the 5 B&B where we stayed during our 2 week vacations.
Annette and Barry care a lot for their guests and like to join them for a talk during breakfast and cocktail hour. We enjoyed these talks with them, but if you are rather left on your own, you should look for a bigger B&B or a hotel.

Our evaluation in detail:

B&B and location:
(+) beautiful B&B in 19th century style
(+) in a quiet street
(+) parking on property
(+) Franschhoek main street with shops and restaurants is a safe 10 min walk
(+) midsize pool with sunbeds, good place to relax

Room:
(+) we had the cottage, a very large room beautifully furnished
(+) huge & modern bathroom with shower and bathtub
(+) comfortable bed, not too soft
(+) fridge with complimentary drinks (soft drinks, beer)
(+) complimentary tea and coffee maker
(+) TV with DVD and DVD collection

Breakfast:
(+) fresh fruits
(+) continental breakfast with locally smoked trout, cheese, marmelade
(+) breakfast served on terrasse with great view

Service:
(+) Plenty recommendations about what todo
(+) Help with booking restaurants, even send list with recommendations in advance
(+) complimentary bicycles
(+) free WiFi
(+) complimentary drinks

Room Tip: Book the cottage - its a little more expensive, but really big with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerChr1st0ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Franschhoek in mid December and stayed for two nights. If we could, we'd be back there right now.

We stayed in the cottage which we found to be warm, luxurious and very comfortable. Right from high quality linens to heated floors & towel racks to a large comfortable bath tub the attention to detail was phenomenal. Small touches like not charging for what you consume from the mini bar make you feel quite at home.

Annette and Barry are outstanding hosts and phenomenal people. They go to great lengths to ensure you feel at home. We went out for dinner together and spent a lovely evening listening to some classical British humour and getting to know each other. They really ensure that you are well looked after and experience Franschhoek in the same way they do- for e.g. Annette would make restaurant reservations for us ensuring that we had the best tables in the house.

While the rooms are comfortable, its the breakfast that really takes centre stage with fresh fruit juice, yummy homemade muesli, smoked trout, ham, cheese and the choicest fresh fruit. Annette's breakfast is unparalleled. Combined with the South African Jazz playing in the background, the crisp morning air and wonderful views of the valley it really is a wonderful experience.

The Pets are an integral part of the Garden House. Benji (the dog) is very gentle and well mannered and the cats are fun to play with.

Overall, The Garden House was one of our best experiences on this trip and we will be back soon. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaVMaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A beautifully restored Victorian bungalow close to the center of Franschhoek village with very friendly and helpful hosts, Annette and Barry Philips. The main accommodation is a detached guest cottage, which was unfortunately not available the day we arrived. We stayed in a perfectly comfortable if smallish double room with en suite bath in the main house. The breakfast included excellent cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and yoghurt. A fine choice in what is perhaps South Africa's most picturesque wine town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The Garden House is a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in the guest house which was gorgeous, especially the bathroom.

The location as a whole has wonderful views across the valley to the mountains from a delightful garden, lovely at breakfast! The pool was very much appreciated in the hot weather we experienced.

Annette and Barry were very dedicated to making sure that we both enjoyed our stay and made the most of our time there. They're good fun and wonderful hosts! A mention for the animals too, they're a lovely bunch!

Thanks for making our time so special!

Luke and Claire

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luketowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friesland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the first week of december. We slept in the pretty and comfortable bedroom of the main house. The views across the valley of Franshoek are amazing and the garden and swimming pool are very nice and relaxing. The morning breakfast is also superb. The hosts Barry and Annette are very hospitable, friendly and have a good sense of English humor.
The Garden house is Rightly number 1 and we definitely recommend it to all people who visit Franshoek (and like cats and dogs).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in late November 2012.

Annette gave us some very sound and invaluable advice to make the most of our stay. By way of explanation here is an example of outstanding hospitality which we experienced.

We arrived on Friday afternoon. We had a long standing table booking at the wonderfully located La Petite Ferme for lunch on the Saturday. Annette advised us that rain was forecast for the Saturday. She thoughtfully suggested that we tried to change our booking to Friday evening. (there is live music during the summer months) Unfortunately not able to secure a table booking at short notice, Annette suggested we take a rug which she kindly provided and we listened to live music as the sun went down over the mountains on the other side of the valley, sipping Champagne.

As Annette had hoped we picked up a 'no show' table cancellation and enjoyed La Petite Ferme at its best, in wonderful evening sunshine. It rained the next day so how lucky we're we!

Our room was very comfortable and tastefully appointed with a separate dressing area.

Breakfasts were superb with home made preserves and excellent fresh ingredients. We ate breakfast on the veranda overlooking the wonderful garden with white roses is profusion.

Annette and Barry gave us a very warm welcome and are fascinating people to get to know. Nothing is too much trouble.

Its worth mentioning the nearby Franschhoek Motor Museum which is an absolute gem with some wonderful art form on 4 wheels. This is an amazing collection, suitable for all, not just petrol heads!

We had a memorable and very special stay with outstanding personal and friendly hospitality

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4ybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a 3 week holiday in South Africa where we had experienced some great places to stay. However we thought we had saved the best until last and we were not disappointed. All the wonderful comments people have made about The Garden House are true; beautiful setting, clean, comfortable and amazing breakfasts but what makes it extra special are Annette and Barry who go above and beyond what anyone would expect and make your stay extra special. By the time you leave you feel part of the family. They are generous with the extras provided which include a fridge full of refreshments, booking of restaurants to try to ensure you have the best tables and advice and guidance on where to go. In addition there is also Marmaduke,Charlie. Monster and the new kitten and Benjie the dog who also welcome visitors and make you feel at home. We do hope that Benkie's leg is improving. Thank you for making the last few days in South Africa so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing