We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining hosts and beautiful, old world charm”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We arrived at 1am to a very friendly welcome from Benji (the dog) and a warm hug from Annete (the owner). The garden house is lovely with a huge room and bathroom and all the small details you can think of. Nikki serves a beautiful, tasty breakfast on the lovely veranda whilst Annette shares funny stories, helps to make your plans for the day and even works out your holiday brain with her tricky (if under 40) music quizzes!! The complimentary bikes are great for a scenic tour of the wineries and even better is Barry and his Beetle who saves the day if you get a flat tire! Definitely recommend for an entertaining stay in Franschoek!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 616 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Two nights at the wonderful Garden House in beautiful Franschoek simply wasn't long enough. Annette and Barry are exceptional hosts and think of everything to make your stay truly lovely. From ensuring the room is fully equipped with whatever you may need and serving up delicious breakfasts (make sure you have an appetite) to booking restaurants, recommending daytime activities and keeping guests amused over drinks on the terrace. We have been back from holiday a few weeks and when i look back this is the place we stayed at which stands out the most. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Last week we spend two nights at the garden house. I wish we had booked a week. It is nice to be in a place where it feels like home. The cottage is lovely furnished with small details to give it that extra comfort. Breakfast is superb! After a bike tour in the wine lands, the beautiful and refreshing pool is wonderful. Followed by a nice cool glass of white wine on the porch together with the owners Annette and Barry, Benji the dog and some cats. These people really make the difference by their interesting stories and great humor. We had a lovely stay and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeCharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was our third visit to the Garden House... Perfect bliss, great room (we stayed in the cottage), marvelous hosts (make sure to ask Annette for her legendary music quizzes and get tempted into one of Barry's bike tours). Great breakfast on the terrace by a very attentive Nicky! Highly recommended.. And we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillyann1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We left the Garden House today after 5 nights and felt sorry we had to leave. As soon as we arrived we felt welcome and at home. Annette and Barry are wonderful hosts and their home is a great place to stay. we were at the Cottage which offers a very nice sleeping room and a spacious bath room. It is all very well maintained and clean. Breakfast is above standard. The other thing which is very positive is that all is included in the rate, no surprises. There is free WIFI, complementary drinks in the room, sundowner offered before dinner, even laundry is free. And I almost forgot, the house and the garden are beautiful and really charming. If you are looking for the right plce to stay in Franschhoek, and on walking distance from restaurants and shops, go to the Garden House. You will like it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flamingotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Garden house is the most beautiful place in Franshoek with a lovely garden and pool. It is also run by the most welcoming English couple who take such good care of you and spoil you with glasses of wine and freshly squeezed orange juice. We rented the apartment in the city centre which had and excellent location and all amenities you need. Also the most stunning view through the big bedroom window.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josefine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is the perfect place in the perfect wine and food setting in South Africa. From awakening to an incredible breakfast feast to delightful sundowner drinks on the porch -- Annette makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyfetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 64 in Franschhoek
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#6 of 64 in Franschhoek
612 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $125 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing