We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coach House
Nearby Hotels
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
$572
$472
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
$319
$290
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
$461
$387
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$564
$468
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,046
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$187
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$762
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$232
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
195
36
7
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
36
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplenty of sunbedsfourth visitlovely gardensmall fridgeshower roomsouth africashops and restaurantscape townnothing is too much troublequiet streetlovely hostswarm welcomeeach eveninglovely placecomfortable bedsperfect stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 240 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We landed up at the Coach House, having being recommended it by a Capetonian friend. Loved it. Sharon Simons (former floor manager at the Radisson Blu in Granger Bay) was a warm & welcoming hostess & gave us suite 3, alongside the garden & pool. Huge double bed, with excellent quality linen & soft, deep pillows. Am always impressed when a bathroom has top quality fittings so this was a plus as well. And free wifi so we could connect when we needed... I can never be too far from my Twitter & Instagram :) We highly recommend the Coach House, off the main road, so love,y & peaceful too. Give Smiley the pooch a pat from us when you go! Allison & Paul, Oranjezicht, Cape Town.

Room Tip: suite 3 is great
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divacapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by Sharon who is the perfect hostess and so informal you feel like you are returning home rather than visiting somewhere new. The room was excellent and very spacious. The bed is enormous and so comfortable. The guest house is just one street away from the centre of Franschhoek so it is ideally located for a stroll into town. We can't recommend it enough, shame we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Inbetweeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Coach House with my mom and a friend in November for 2 nights. We had a great time! My mom and I had a room in the back and my friend had the upstairs room with the big balcony, which was perfect for sitting on and sipping wine as the sun went down. Both rooms were clean and nicely decorated.

Sharon gave us great recommendations for both restaurants and wineries and made us feel as though we were part of her family.

I'd highly recommend the Coach House to anyone traveling to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corby80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Coach House we were made to feel at home by Sharon. We stayed in one of the garden rooms for two nights, which was gorgeous. Breakfast was my favourite of the two weeks we had in South Africa. Sharon gave us plenty of tips on where to eat and to go wine tasting, i just wish we had booked to stay for an extra night . The Coach House couldn't be better situated, less than 2 minutes from the main street in the beautiful village of Franschhoek. Added to all this, the garden is ideal to sit in and take a bit of time out or to have a dip in the pool.
The Coach House is a lovely guesthouse in a great location.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank hergest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a very comfortable overnight stay here in two of the garden rooms. Central location within easy walking distance of town. Would have loved to spend more time by the pool (but there's all those vineyards to visit...) Sharon made us feel part of the family and fed us a great cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews