We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern spacious place with a winning hostess”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #33 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
968 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Modern spacious place with a winning hostess”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Coach House B&B is located just off the main street with all its boutiques and restaurants in a substantially refurbished house that exudes quality. Our bedroom with balcony facing to the rear garden was spacious, comfortable and very well equipped, with a beautiful tiled bathroom.

The hostess Sharon was very kind, suggested and arranged a perfect restaurant for us and confirmed and reserved another place we had in mind as being good as well, thus we experienced two excellent dinners. Nice breakfast array with a selection of cheeses and meats, fruit salad & yoghurt and eggs with bacon & sausage.

Perfect place in an excellent price range considering the locale and a very convenient location, with a rating that is close to a 5* average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    35
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
156
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a very nice if brief stay at The Coach House. This place is conveniently located for exploring Franschhoek's main street and provides a very affordable accommodation is an otherwise pricey town. Sharon made our stay warm and enjoyable, and even gave us a few wineries recommendations. Our only complaint is the spotty wireless internet service. We look forward to returning!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recommended by some friends,we weren't disappointed.Stayed in the main house and the room was great.Location is ideal for walking into Franschoek esp in the evening,and seeing the surrounding areas.Really good value esp with the breakfast,hence the rating.
Didn't meet the owners but Kenny couldn't have been more helpful and certainly was useful for local insights and knowledge.Staff very courteous.
We stayed 4 nights and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ransom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was our second visit to The Coach House and it was as wonderful as ever.
After travelling around South Africa for 5 weeks we wanted to stay somewhere where we could relax, enjoy the garden and pool and walk to restaurants and stay for 6 nights. The Coach house has all this and more - lovely rooms, large comfortable beds, excellent breakfasts and great hosts. We like room 1 in the garden. Sharon and Charlie are a charming couple who cant do enough for you.
Sharon had booked us some restaurants before we arrived - French Connection is one of our favourites and it does get busy and also a table on the terrace at Pettit Ferme for their Friday Jaz Night.
We had a thoroughly relaxing time and were so sad to leave, gut we will be back next February. Its one of the best places we stay in SA. Thank you Charlie and Sharon and of course Smiley.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house, and it was just like being at home! Everything was remarkably clean and cozy, the bathroom was huge, and there were nice little snacks, too. It really felt like being a guest at a friend's house, without the feeling of a zillion people having stayed in the bed. The sheets were crisp and pristine and luxurious.

Sharon was an absolute delight, and the breakfast was delicious. We met her husband on the last day, and he is a riot!

Furthermore, this B&B is centrally located. We walked to the main drag of the town from here (it is about a block off, so it's still quiet) and dined at Reuben's and Kalfi's (great lamb burger), though you'll probably want a car to get to La Petite Ferme, since it's on an incline, giving a great view of the valley.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Franschhoek is a beautiful village in wine county and the Coach House is a charming place to stay. Although the property is a 4 overall, it is a 5 for the price range. Our garden room was very nice with a small patio and modern tiled bathroom. Sharon and Charlie were extremely helpful with suggestions for eating, wineries and hiking. The location is excellent, just a block off the main street and within walking distance of shops and many restaurants. Franschhoek and the surrounding area is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. You will not be disappointed with a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Coach House is a fantastic place to stay. Lovely rooms, great breakfast and fantastic hosts, especially Sharon. I couldn't fault our stay and with Franschhoek a short stroll away with lovely boutique shops and really good restaurants what more do you want. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aims82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#51 of 63 in Franschhoek
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#26 of 63 in Franschhoek
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#18 of 63 in Franschhoek
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bella Casa
#52 of 63 in Franschhoek
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Yard
#28 of 41 in Franschhoek
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 5 Dirkie Uys Street | Southern Suburbs, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing