We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Vrede en Lust Winery
Ranked #6 of 60 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Vrede en Lust offers award-winning wines, historic Cape Dutch architecture, undulating vineyards, breathtaking scenery and world-class leisure facilities. Our cellar door is open daily, with free wine tasting or special wine enthusiast food and wine pairings. Luxurious accommodation for up to 42 people plus one of the most sought-after wedding and event venues in the country. The very popular LUST Bistro & Bakery is family friendly and open for early breakfasts, late lunches and everything in between.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Really nice wine ... Lynne M treated us so well and she is amazing .. Excellent help .. Great and lovely wine ..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    63
    20
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not only was the wine and view great. The service was fantastic in all regards. We had the lovely opportunity to be helped by one of the tasting girls named Christina, who was beyond friendly and helpful. Not a bad thing to be said.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lulutsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Views, good wine and magnificent vineyards”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A visit to this lovely Winery is an experience. The wine tasting staff cannot do enough for you. The views from the tasting room is spectacular and the little bistro, Lust, serves fantastic food( try the salmon fish cakes). A wonderful place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent wine presented with flair by our red lady, Christine, relaxing view and personal touch. Can't wait to come here again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank YolandiB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've been on lots of wine tours in SA, but nothing compared to what I experienced in my day at Vrede en Lust Wine Estate. We also ate lunch at the wonderful new “Lust” restaurants.

After lunch we were welcomed by everyone in the tasting room. Everyone was hospitable and informative, especially “Abongi/bongi”, she assisted us and welcomed us with such a big smile. The “ladies in red” amazed us, they were a delightful beauty! Andrea came to assist us with our wine tasting. We did the seasonal tasting that’s a bit of both worlds’ – red & white. She had so much knowledge about each wine, and seemed very excited and interested in her work although she’s just a trainee. We enjoyed the tasting so much and decided to buy a case of Mocholate and Viogner. Thank you Vrede en Lust Wine Estate! We took pictures with the “red ladies” and even of the beautiful estate and the picturesque mountains in the background. I highly recommend this winery, definitely on the top of my list!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vrede en Lust Winery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Vrede en Lust Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing