We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional place to stay in Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Chablis Guest House
Ranked #9 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a wonderful guest house - in actual fact we think a boutique hotel right in the centre of Franschhoek, almost next door to the Quartier Francais / a 200 meter walk to the Huguenot Monument. James and Pat made us feel so welcome and went out of their way with every request - to include finding us a driver to take us on a wine tour at the very last minute!! This is an exceptional place to stay and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 640 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Top location just a skip and a jump away from the high street in a quiet side street. Wonderful garden with beautiful plants and birdlife High standard standard room and bathroom. Massive choice of breakfast; the mother of all fruitsalads was particularly appreciated by us. We will remember especially the warmest of welcomes provided by James; helpful, kind and personal

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fabulous start to our honeymoon. James is an excellent host and gave us a warm welcome. He is knowledgable about the area and very helpful. The guest house is lovely and the breakfast is perfect. Ideally positioned to just stroll into the main area of Franschhoek. We will recommend MC to our friends. Thank you James!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Maison Chablis was flawless. We arrived quite early but were facilitated ASAP. The house is beautiful, rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The gardens are very well maintained and the pool area was lovely to retreat after an afternoon on horseback through the local vineyard. James must be commended for his warm welcome and genuine interest in our family and our trip to ZA. Wifi was an added bonus for the teenagers.
We would not hesitate in recommending this boutique guest house, it was something special. Hope Simba is well James and you returned the biscuit barrel to the stables on our behalf :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGray771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October while on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed it and would definitely return. It's a one minute walk from the main street and so everything is on your door step. The owners are lovely and very helpful. They gave us two excellent recommendations as to where to eat (Le Bon Vivant and Ruebens - both excellent, but would prefer Le Bon Vivant). breakfast was lovely. The decor throughout is fabulous and the outside is very pretty too. Everything was spotlessly clean. I definitely recommend this place. Thanks for a great stay, Lisa and Tom

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank misskerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Maison Chablis James was an excellent host. His advice on the locality, restaurants and things to do was invaluable. Breakfast was excellent, the room large and comfortable. we used the Franschhoek Wine Tram to visit vineyards on his advice and can thoroughly recommend it to others, as we would his guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit at Maison Chablis – unfortunately only for one night. Not only is Franschhoek a beautiful and lovely town with its numerous wine and dine opportunities but also the Maison was a very, very positive surprise. The rooms are spacious and decorated with an eye for details. The service was perfect and very friendly. For our next ZA trip we will definitely plan a longer visit for Franschhoek than just one day. It's worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tknuewerHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. They are of course, always appreciated. It was great to have you both stay here, and I enjoyed interacting with the two of you. I do hope that you will both visit again!

regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#4 of 64 in Franschhoek
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Chablis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Chablis Guest House

Address: 15 Berg Street | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Chablis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Maison Chablis, a stunning 4 star Georgian Guest House where you will be welcomed to charming Cape hospitality. Each of the rooms are tastefully decorated to the highest standards. Enjoy a scrumptious English breakfast with us and then relax by the sparkling pool. We can assist you, whether it be a dinner reservation, wine tours, horse rides or any other activity. We are only 2 minutes walk from the best restaurants in Franschhoek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maison Chablis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Chablis Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing