We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Chablis Guest House
Ranked #9 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Maison Chablis was flawless. We arrived quite early but were facilitated ASAP. The house is beautiful, rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The gardens are very well maintained and the pool area was lovely to retreat after an afternoon on horseback through the local vineyard. James must be commended for his warm welcome and genuine interest in our family and our trip to ZA. Wifi was an added bonus for the teenagers.
We would not hesitate in recommending this boutique guest house, it was something special. Hope Simba is well James and you returned the biscuit barrel to the stables on our behalf :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGray771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 663 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October while on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed it and would definitely return. It's a one minute walk from the main street and so everything is on your door step. The owners are lovely and very helpful. They gave us two excellent recommendations as to where to eat (Le Bon Vivant and Ruebens - both excellent, but would prefer Le Bon Vivant). breakfast was lovely. The decor throughout is fabulous and the outside is very pretty too. Everything was spotlessly clean. I definitely recommend this place. Thanks for a great stay, Lisa and Tom

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank misskerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Maison Chablis James was an excellent host. His advice on the locality, restaurants and things to do was invaluable. Breakfast was excellent, the room large and comfortable. we used the Franschhoek Wine Tram to visit vineyards on his advice and can thoroughly recommend it to others, as we would his guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit at Maison Chablis – unfortunately only for one night. Not only is Franschhoek a beautiful and lovely town with its numerous wine and dine opportunities but also the Maison was a very, very positive surprise. The rooms are spacious and decorated with an eye for details. The service was perfect and very friendly. For our next ZA trip we will definitely plan a longer visit for Franschhoek than just one day. It's worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tknuewerHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. They are of course, always appreciated. It was great to have you both stay here, and I enjoyed interacting with the two of you. I do hope that you will both visit again!

regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in beautiful Franschhoek. Maison Chablis was charming and peaceful. The rooms were elegant and the beds super comfy. Our hosts were on the ball and so friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thank you for a wonderfull day in Franschhoek.
Rooms, breakfast, WiFi - everything was perfect for us.
Especially thx to James for the personal Service at Maison Chablis.
The only bad thing was, that we only stayed for one night ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location is excellent for enjoying Franschhoek and its lovely restaurants. We have stayed twice at Maison Chablis Guest House and both times we have met a service an an attitude beyond our expectations - and we will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. It was lovely to have you back and your friends were a pleasure. We look forward to your return one day and hope that the continued effort to improve the property will always having you coming back to stay with us on future trips.
regards to you both, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#7 of 65 in Franschhoek
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 65 in Franschhoek
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 65 in Franschhoek
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#11 of 65 in Franschhoek
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Chablis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Chablis Guest House

Address: 15 Berg Street | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $115 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Chablis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Maison Chablis, a stunning 4 star Georgian Guest House where you will be welcomed to charming Cape hospitality. Each of the rooms are tastefully decorated to the highest standards. Enjoy a scrumptious English breakfast with us and then relax by the sparkling pool. We can assist you, whether it be a dinner reservation, wine tours, horse rides or any other activity. We are only 2 minutes walk from the best restaurants in Franschhoek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Chablis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Chablis Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing