We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$116
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
571
104
14
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
104
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetowner jamesguest housewine trambreakfast roomthe perfect hostexcellent locationthe ground floorhigh streetappointed roomslovely gardenfour poster bedsecure parkingwithin walking distancelovely roomconvenient locationbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 690 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Maison Chablis for two nights and really wished we could have stayed longer.
James and Pat were so friendly and James very kindly arranged restaurants and booked the horse ride tour for us. The house is in a great location and the rooms are beautifully decorated.
Breakfast is great with lots of choice. The pool is only small but perfect for a rest after a busy day. If we ever return to Franschhoek we will certainly look no further than to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hi, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The horse riding is a great hidden secret in Franschhoek, and you get a chance to ride and drink wine at the same time! You are welcome back any time and it was a pleasure to have the two fo you stay with us.
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited Franschhooek last week (23rd January) as part of our stay with friends in the Cape Town area. We stayed at Maison Chablis. We were expecting a typical B & B. It was a lovely surprise. It was in walking distance of the High street. Our room was beautiful -everything was provided, from water in the fridge to Soap Shampoo and body cream in nice and nice spacious shower and toilet room. The beds were really comfortable. We had a small terrrace area outside our room - Room no. 4. We sat out there in the evening having a drink and nibbles - lovely. The hotel had a lovely small pool with comfy sunloungers and shady areas. Breakfast was tasty and a good choice ( but no croissants or pastries!) You could buy wine or food and use the fridge in the room without worrying about breaking any rules! The staff were efficient and friendly. Were were met by Pat when we arrived who made us feel very welcome, and as a local was able to recommend places to visit and restaurants to eat in- depending on your taste and purse.
James the owner was highly visible, attentive and very friendly. After a discussion on what we would like in a restaurant he booked the table for us- getting an outside terrace table at a restaurant called French Connection - where we had a delicious meal which was excellent and not too pricey.
We also were able to go out for the day on a tour of Wineries (recommended by Pat- using a local bus and tram service. This was most enjoyable - especially as wine tasting in some of them was part of the ticket! I was also able to use the hotel computer to access the internet as I didn't have access where I was staying .All in all a brilliant place to stay as a base for visiting places of interest and relaxing when returned. Would definitely stay there again, and would recommned it to others.

Room Tip: Only saw downstairs rooms which were excellent as had small terrace to sit outside rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in James Guesthouse that much, that we will come back the next time we visit South Africa.
The interieur is beautiful, the staff is more than nice and James helped us with recommends and reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs have a little terrace. But all are lovely
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thats really great. We look forward to your return, and remember that returning guests get a discount if they book directly with our establishment. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I spent two days in Franschhoek and were happy to stay in this fantastic beautiful guest house, only a few minutes walk from the main road. Thank you very much Pat and James for the friendly welcome. We really appreciated it. They also recommended what to do in Franschhoek as this was our first visit here, but not the last. Franschhoek is a beautiful valley with a lot of good restaurants and great wine farms. We visited some of them. About our stay at Maison Chablis is to say - great hostesses and staff, very tasteful breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, nice breakfastroom, a bit of luxury, nice garden, safe parking. We will definitely stay here next time we og to Franschhoek.
Torild and Per, Norway

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorildSkiaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

HI, I remember you two well! I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and in our village. You were very easy to be friendly too and are always welcome back. Thank you and wishing you both the best.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My sister and I loved everything about the guest house. We were given a warm welcome upon arrival,excellent location and the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. We definitely recommend the guest house and we will definitely return there again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Spando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews