We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$184
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$356
$291
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$129
$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$252
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $434/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$258
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $500/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
571
104
14
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
104
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetowner jamesguest housewine trambreakfast roomthe perfect hostexcellent locationthe ground floorhigh streetappointed roomslovely gardenfour poster bedsecure parkingwithin walking distancelovely roomconvenient locationbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 690 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely guest house, convenient to the many restaurants in the area. Had a wonderful horse ride from local stable that took in two vineyards for tastings. A big thanks to the owner, James who makes everyone feel welcome, who very kindly arranged riding, dropping us off and picking us up again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johndeirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. It was lovely to have the two of you stay with us, and by doing the horse and wine trail, see a different and beautiful part of the Franschhoek valley. Taking you there and collecting you really was a pleasure, and not worth calling a taxi for that short duration. Hope you drop by again!
Best regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great location, top service and moderately priced. Your host James will do most anything to please you as a valuable guest. Located in a quiet garden a few steps from the mai street in chaming Franschhoek - the best of culure, food and wine just at your doorstep

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Hi, Thank you so much for your time to do a review. Your group were the easiest group to attend to, friendly, outgoing, and appreciative so it made my job really that much easier and more fun. I wish to thank you for your business and I really hope to see you all again.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The guesthouse is ideally situated just off the main street with easy and safe walking to/from the shops and resturants. The house, bedroom (room 3) and the breakfast were all to a high standard. This alone makes us more than happy to recommend a stay but it was the owner James, whose help and assistance made it such a perfect visit for us. A very warm welcome was received with immediate help with dinner reservations. Nothing was ever too much trouble - what ever our request. The icing on the cake was when I had left a pair of glasses in Johannesberg, James assisted with the use of telephone and even transferring funds to the courier service on my behalf! We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I think one of the most rewarding experiences about this industry is meeting so many great people from all over the world that keeps it interesting. Have a lovely day and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable stay. James, the owner, provided us with unrivalled service. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were perfect! We would love to go back anyday. A docking station for my ipod in our room would have been great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi, Thank you for the review. I am so glad that you had a good time. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon! Thank you for the comment about the docking station for an ipod. I will investigate that as a good possibility going forward! Regards . James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Don't hesitate to book your accommodation at Maison Chablis! It is very centrally located in Franshoek and is within walking distance to everything. James and his staff are fantastic. We were stuck in traffic getting there and James very kindly arranged a dinner reservation and allowed us to book in late so that we wouldn't miss dinner!
The rooms are superb, impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. Delicious breakfast too!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am so grateful that I could assist you with a late check in. I can just imagine you coming all the way to Franschhoek , the food and wine capital of South Africa, only to been stuck in traffic to miss dinner, so it was a pleasure to assist you, and been on the property, it was no problem at all to help you with a late arrival. I hope to see you again. Regards , James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews