We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Chablis Guest House
Ranked #9 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Great Accomodation”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The night we spent at Maison Chablis was most pleasurable. It is conveniently situated in central Fransch Hoek, the room was lovely and very comfortable, James is a most hospitable and attentive host and I would definitely recommend his establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. Your kind comments are appreciated and we hope to see you again.
Best regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    98
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
439
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good stay @ Maison Chablis. A remarkable experience was the level of service provided by James who really helped us to get the best Franschhoek experience during our (short) stay: good tips and suggestions.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for choosing our establishment to stay out of the many in Franschhoek. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that you return. Your comments are most appreciated.
Kind regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First time staying at Maison Chablis and would definitely stay again. Great location (just off Franschhoek high street), lovely comfy rooms, reliable free WiFi and fantastic breakfast every morning. Service was top as well - James and Pat were very welcoming, friendly, and attentive throughout our stay - thanks for making a business trip feel a bit more like a holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were there with a group of 6 people, the owner was very friendly and quick to help us with everything. I will defenitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bratzo_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we could assist you. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us, and to learn something about your country as well. I wish you all well with your MBA course, and wish you every success. It would be great to have you back when you have more time to relax. Best wishes. James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, the location couldn't be better, close to all the best restaurants and the main street. The welcome from James the owner was great, he recommend restaurants and booked for us. The room was large with a king sized bed, good linen, coffee and tea with a sitting area. Overall a little gem and fantastic value for money, WiFi a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate it. I am so glad that you had a good stay and appreciate the positive feedback. best regards. James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Masion Chablis for one night, and it was very comfortable and convenient as it is just off the main street, which makes walking into town to browse around, a pleasure. James who owns and runs Maison Chablis made us feel very welcome, was very helfpul in suggesting restaurants to eat at, and making bookings if necessary.

It was perfect for our stay as we had been there for a wedding but it may not be ideal if you are planning on spending a lot of time there, as it is better suited to the traveller who wants to be comfy whilst exploring the restaurants and other attractions in Franschoek.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed for 1 night only but would happily have stayed more. The room we had was super comfortable, well appointed and clean.
The owner James was very attentive and friendly and the free Wifi was a winner...

Will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Chablis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Chablis Guest House

Property: Maison Chablis Guest House
Address: 15 Berg Street | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Chablis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Maison Chablis, a stunning 4 star Georgian Guest House where you will be welcomed to charming Cape hospitality. Each of the rooms are tastefully decorated to the highest standards. Enjoy a scrumptious English breakfast with us and then relax by the sparkling pool. We can assist you, whether it be a dinner reservation, wine tours, horse rides or any other activity. We are only 2 minutes walk from the best restaurants in Franschhoek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Chablis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Chablis Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing