We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nossob Rest Camp
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nossob has undergone some renovation since our last visit in 2007. Nice new red paint for the "chalets", and all you really need inside. Furniture & kitchen inventory somewhat outdated ....... but we are in a very remote area of SA and we are here to see the animals and not a 5 star accommodation. Great hide in a good location for photography. Kgalagadi is the best place to live with wildlife.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011Happy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

The camp is basic, but very good location to see animals, and that is the most important. Good value for money, was not crowded at all, hide is well located, we had good sightings. The area is very good to spot lions, but not only, we were very happy to see the birdlife and also pudd adder on the road. Better to bring your food and drings, but there is a shop you can also use. Rooms are OK, but nothing more.

Room Tip: nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ferenc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A fantastic place to get away from the bustle of city life! We had a fantastic time camping and game viewing in this area. It is definitely rustic and the shop has very limited supplies, but very worth it for the game viewing. Make sure to head out first thing in the morning for game drives (and later in the afternoon) when it is cooler (many animals retreat to the shade as the day heats up and are difficult to spot). We also did a sunset drive and saw lots of animals that are difficult to find during the day, including: caracal, scrub hares, brown hyena, genet, white faced scops owl, bat eared fox etc. and can highly recommend doing the drive. It is very hot (and dry! make sure to pack moisturiser) at this time of year, but the camp swimming pool is a perfect spot to cool off.

Room Tip: Pick a campsite with lots of shade near the fence and you may see a lion walk passed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownCaitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hi
This is the camp if you want to see lions. We were there at the end of September 2012. You can tent as well as the camp is fenced. We have stayed mostly in chalets in Nossop. You have to realise that you are going camping so be prepared even if you stay in the chalets. You must be aware that the accomendation is basic, simple and clean. It has aircon and a bath and a shower. The camp has a swimming pool and a small shop. This is the camp we have seen the most lions in. We stayed two nights and the lions roared all night long. We drove 2 kms out of the camp and there was lions in both directions. We had a male lion come to the waterhole. We saw two kills. As we left we had three lions asleep next to the road, We had a total of 15 sightings of lions. AWESOME!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elvie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a wonderfully atmospheric place - we loved it. Loads of small birds and cute ground squirrels (who pretend to be meerkats) and some very near-sounding lions roaring at night. We had some very impressive lion sightings near to the camp and also saw 3 cheetahs. We went out on the night drive and tho' we saw little wildlife our guide was really engaging and the scenery is strangely bewitching - altho' we were a bit unlucky as it was a very cold night altho' we were too British to say can we please go back to camp as we can no longer feel our toes/fingers and pretty much everything else. The game-watching hide is good but I so wish people would not use torches as they put off a brown hyena and a lion from coming nearer to the water hole. The shop is pretty well stocked - frozen bread, meat and beer - there is no restaurant or bar. I do think that there is something wrong with their booking system we reserved with SAN park thro' their website (which is easy to use), it appeared that the site was full months ago but when we got there it was half empty which was great for us but seemed a shame - sadly I would not recommend turning up on spec as the drive to the nearest campsites is 4hrs plus away. In addition the advice SAN parks give about travel times is ridiculous - OK if you've competed in the Dakar Rally maybe 3.5 hrs from Nossob to Mata Mata is feasible but 5-7 is more realistic - considering you'll see game and have to stop and whoever drives will need the odd break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyonTourStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Innitialy we didn't have a reservation for Nossob, but the friendly receptionist at Twee Rivieren helped us to book our second night in the Kalahari at this wonderful camp. As always, I don't get the negative reviews of the others. You are in a National Park, in the middle of the Kalahari Karoo, and still they expect 4 star accommodation. Granted: the camp looks very rudimentary. However, if you camp here (instead of seeking shelter in the cottages), you have everything you need. The shop can provide you with enough food, the staff is very friendly and helpful and there's just a wonderful atmosphere.
We didn't see big game at the shelter (which is just amazing), but witnessed a nature documentary as flocks of birds tried to drink from the waterhole while a Lanner Falcon repeatedly treid to snatch them. Magical Kalahari.
We did an evening drive with SANparks. The guide, Melissa, managed to enthral us with her knowledge of the wildlife. We saw a Lion eating a Wildebeest from just 10 meters away. You could smell the dead Wildebeest from the car.
We ate late at night, and felt right at home thanks to the friendly neighbours who were also using the bbq. Who needs more I ask you? The experience will last a lifetime with us. Sleeping in a tent with Lions roaring all through the night. Don't expect luxury, expect a nature experience and you'll be more than fine!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stay at Nossob only to experience the hide. The chalets are adequate but once the electricity is switched off at night they become ovens. The hide attracts lions, cheetah and leopards so may be worth suffering for a few hours at night if they put in an appearance! I have heard that SANParks will be renovating the existing units and maybe even building some river-facing chalets as has been done at Mata Mata.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nossob Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nossob Rest Camp

Address: Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing