We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Lodge Off-The-Beaten Path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of !Xaus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
!Xaus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An Amazing Lodge Off-The-Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was such a great experience to stay at !Xaus. I am so happy that we were able to spend two nights there instead of only one. We would have missed some of their activities. We drove all the way into the lodge which added to the whole experience. As soon as we arrived we felt right at home. The staff could have not been more welcoming and pleasant.

We joined all of their activities and loved each one of them. We did two night drives that were great. We were able to see an Aardwolf which it is my understanding is pretty unusual. The morning drive and walk was also excellent. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. The sunset drive was also beautiful.

The rooms have a ceiling fan which helped cool down the room before the power is turned off at 10pm. The view of the salt pan from the rooms is spectacular. The food was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operators at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It was lovely to hear your feedback, especially your understanding that !Xaus Lodge is not a one-night destination. We hope that your next visit to this beautiful world will be for a longer period, giving you even more time to get the red sands of the Kalahari between your toes - and into your heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent four nights here at the lodge and it was stunning. You are really away from it all out here, you leave the world behind totally to take in the silence of the isolation around you. The wildlife of the area is wide and varied and the hospitality of the Mier and the San is simply wonderful. Thank you to you all for making our stay so memorable.
The sunset and morning drives for us were the highlight and the home cooked meals. Wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedro9234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operators at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review you posted for !Xaus Lodge. It is good to hear that you were so taken by 'the hospitality of the Mier and the San (which) is simply wonderful". It's a very important component of the Lodge's appeal and we are so pleased that it struck such a chord with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Do you appreciate the quietness, the beauty of the dunes, nature at its best ... and a beautiful style of comfort to go with it? This is the lodge to visit - we enjoyed our 2 night stay (and regretted not having booked 3 nights) - the drive over 91 dunes explains why the lodge is so special - out in no-where - away from everything! And this is worth the price - we couldn't believe how lovely the rooms were done - including comfortable linen, towels, water and a toilet - all this had to find its way through 91 dunes - and not to forget the plunge pool. We were welcomed and the same late afternoon we were taken on a evening drive after dinner! It was rather fresh but they provided us with lovely blankets, thanks. The next morning we went on an early morning walk - it was very cold and windy. Nevertheless, worth the getting up and exercise. Hannes and Kossie read us the latest news from the dunes and also explained how one would have a chance to survive in die desert. It was very interesting. Later we got spoilt with a lovely hot breakfast. Now we had time to chill - great! And later in the afternoon we were taken on a sundowner drive - stunning! The Kalahari, is is an interesting and different world, and well worth the experience. We will be back again after the rains! Thanks to all the staff at !Xaus Lodge. Keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operators at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your informative and interesting review. We too share your regret that you did not stay longer, and hope to welcome you back in the Kalahari one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. On the way to the lodge we saw a large male lion and then when we arrived at the lodge we had another male and two female lions on the pan!

We went on a walking safari as well as day and night game drives to the various pans and we saw gemsbok, eland, lions and African wild cats.

The service, food, and photo opportunities are superb. For landscape photography you have star trails, moon/sun-rise, sunsets and the pan as subjects.

It can get very hot so airconditioners in the rooms would be nice but they did supply us with 'Kalahari airconditioners' which we wore on our game drives and they worked very well in keeping us cool.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view of the pan and surrounding dunes. If the lodge is full and you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operators at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
we really appreciate the time you took to write this review. It was good to hear that you used the "Kalahari Air-conditioners" - they really do help us manage in the heat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our third visit in 5 years. Still a very good room standard and the guides (Mier and San) knowledge of his environment and the parks animals was (as usual) outstanding. The sigths of lions were totally overshadowed by the very rare African Wild Cat and Aardwolf. The sunset drives and sunrise walks were pretty routine but nevertheless fascinating.

The five start rating is only 4 star due to the pretty boring food. No venison or spices used. The local people the Mier has certainly some more interesting dishes. Two dinners in three days with chicken is not commensurate with the price charged and the other qualities.

Room Tip: All rooms face the !xaus pan - but the outer ones have a better look to the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBChristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the lodge in the family unit. On the way to the lodge came across a lion kill which was fabulous. The lodge is located deep into the desert on a pan. The setting of the lodge is wonderful with incredible colours in the morning and at sunset. The management were stunning in making us feel at home and leaves no stone unturned to make your stay as special as possible. The guides were very knowledgable and showed us a number of interesting things you would never have seen on your own. We stayed during a cold spell but had the most incredible nights with hot water bottles and snugly made beds which meant we slept like babies. My kids had an abolute ball during or visit. We absolutely loved the food and when one realises everything in the lodge have to be brought in by 4x4 over the dunes you realise how special it is to be there and experience the Kalahari on that way. A truly special experience!

Room Tip: Did not get any idea of rooms being better or worse. Lodge is small enough for all rooms to be nicel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

!Xaus Lodge was absolutely magical! I was there in Summer of 2009 with a small study-abroad trip. This place was the big-spend of the trip, and, for students, was truly amazing. The staff was kind and taught us so much about the Kgalagadi: her people, ecology, history, etc. There is so much life in the desert. And now, my heart is there too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrivingMissEloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to !Xaus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about !Xaus Lodge

Property: !Xaus Lodge
Address: Dune 91 | Off the Auob River Road, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park 8814, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — !Xaus Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!Xaus Lodge is a private Safari Lodge in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Set in an isolated corner of the Kalahari Desert, this eco-lodge is owned by the local Khomani San and Mier communities, and commercially managed. Guests stay on a full-board basis, with all meals, activities and game drives included in the tariff. Activities include wilderness walks with local Khomani San trackers, a visit to the craft village to meet local crafters, game drives and an opportunity to listen to the sunset. Night-sky star-gazing is a highlight of the evening.!Xaus Lodge is an isolated, desert destination where the emphasis is on experiencing this unique part of the world. Guests stay in chalets on the edge of a large salt-pan and can view game at the waterhole from their private viewing deck. Wilderness walks provide an opportunity to see the smaller details, and give an opportunity to learn about desert life.The local community owners, the Khomani San and Mier, make up the majority of the staff, and their influences dominate the aesthetics and culinary experience. !Xaus Lodge is a place to experience, and not just observe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your !Xaus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing