We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long on beer, short on maintenance”

The J.J. Bitting Brewing Company
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in a 100 year old brick building that once housed The J.J. Bitting Coal and Feed Depot is our spacious restaurant and cigar friendly bar room. This is where our Chef and Brewer offer up the finest in American Grill Cuisine and Handcrafted Beer and Ales. These treats can also be enjoyed on our outdoor deck overlooking Main Street.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long on beer, short on maintenance”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I've been here many times and enjoy the beer selection (it is a brewpub after all). The food isn't bad either -- best described as new age pub fare. The only downside I'll note is that they would be well advised to pay more attention to cleaning and maintenance. The restrooms in particular are dirty and poorly maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    61
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

enjoyed a recent visit here, great food, drinks and environment. Haven't been there in several years, so glad I went back.



Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Brew Pub”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If your ever visiting Woodbridge, NJ, this is a brew pub you want to check out. They have a good rack of ribs with waffle fries. If you like fajitas, try the chicken. Meals come out hot and tasty. Burgers are big and good. The building is a converted grain mill with antique signs and a small train that runs on a track near the ceiling. There's a bar for those who just want a quick bite to eat. Although I don't drink beer, they have a variety of beer including several of their own brews. Although it's near the train station, it's relaxing and a great place to dine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great furst Visit. ”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

In the area for a few weeks and went for dinner and drinks. Had an amazing time stagv was verg friendly food was great and look forward to a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Mike Cerami's usual mediocrity.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

J.J. Bitting is Cerami's 3rd or 4th attempt at food service. I'm frankly amazed this place is even still in business. The couple times I've tried this place they were actually out of several of their beer flavors. You're a micro-brewery...how do you run out of 3/4's of your beer without having made more? That is just inexcusable.

The food is his usual low quality food typical of his food service ventures. It does have some decent atmosphere and the staff is pretty good. As long as you look at it for what it is, a bar...than the food is on par with bar quality food. If you're looking for a good tasting meal than look elsewhere. Or have a few drinks before you start eating, that always makes bad food taste better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonofbaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The J.J. Bitting Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to The J.J. Bitting Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing