We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site, nice rooms, but crowded and there are flies everywhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Augrabies Falls National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Augrabies Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great site, nice rooms, but crowded and there are flies everywhere”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Augrabies Rest Camp is right next to the famous waterfall - a safe and pleasant wooden walkway has been constructed leading from the restaurant to the cliff overlooking the falls, with numerous viewing platforms offering different vantage points. However, beware - there are swarms of midgets flying around, they get in your eyes, down your shirt, in your mouth... it's quite unbearable.
We were lucky and got one of the nice bungalows right next to the waterfall. It was clean, very spacious and fully equipped for self catering. These are slightly more expensive, but much better than the smaller, more basic bungalows further away.
There are some very interesting walks/hikes to do in the surrounding area. Ask at reception for a map and a list of walks.
The restaurant was good and quite cheap. The swimming pool was freezing cold.
The only other problems apart from the flies was the sheer number of people on the site - it was so crowded it felt like we were at a theme park!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in March. I think the first point to make is that not all the advertised attractions are available. Augrabies experienced heavy flooding early February and at the time of our visit around six weeks later only two of five viewpoints around the Falls were open; the rest had tape blocking access due to water damage. As the Falls are the whole reason for going, you might expect a little more effort in getting these repaired quickly but at the time of writing nothing was apparently being done.
50% (the whole of the western end of the park) is also closed although the reason for this is unclear. However the fence blocking access looks pretty permanent. This certainly detracted from our enjoyment of the site and the time you might want to spend in the park. The Falls is marked separately for this reason and the review here focuses only on the accommodation.
This is actually very good. We had a roundel chalet with views of the rock leading to the falls and the sound of rushing water was enchanting. Accommodation consists of one room containing kitchen, dining table and double bed with bathroom to the rear. In the accommodation, booked we also had a lovely private patio overlooking the falls with table and braai available.
Kitchen facilities consist of large fridge/freezer, microwave and two ring hob. Furniture is a little more contemporary than in some of the other camps experienced in the Kgalagadi and for this reason (coupled with the private patio) it scores above average marks.
There is a swimming pool, well stocked shop and small exhibition outside reception. We heard reports of baboons causing some issues with theft of food on the campsite although this did not affect us.
It is a pity that there is no apparent effort at restoring viewing facilities in the park and it seems a little incongruous that the park authorities are still levying full price on a restricted attraction.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We enjoyed our two nights stay.
We have stayed in three other SAN parks camps and this is the better one. Bedding looked new, air-con worked very well, room was clean and comfortable, and the restaurant and shop were interesting enough.

Not many people seem to stay overnight, so early morning / late evening walk can be romantic.

A receptionist was neither friendly nor helpful but it does not matter --- we needed to talk to her only for 2 minutes.

If you are travelling this far, then why not stay one night here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in the park. The accommodation was perfect. There was airco (we needed it because it was more dan 35 degrees Celcius). There is a built-in 'braai'. We had a family-cottage with 2 bedrooms (1 with en-suite bathroom) and an wonderful vieuw. We heard constantly the falls. The monkeys were running for our eyes. The restaurant served good food and the shop well provided (when you are late - maybe bring your own food). The staff was friendly. The welcome at the gate was very good. The park - the falls are great, good walkingpaths. The tour in the park with the car - one day is enough. We were lucky to have 2 swimmingpools near our cottage. Both were not very clean, but acceptable. Overall - a place to go to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenkatslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Stayed here for a night stop on a trip from South Africa to Namibia taking my elderly parents (86 & 80) to visit family.
I was pleasantly surprised at the facilities. I booked a family cottage with 2 separate bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. It was spotless and very welcoming after an 8 hour drive.
The kitchen was extremely well appointed for the "bush" type cooking needs. A beautiful outside area with a built-in barbeque.
Special mention should be made about parking right next to the units. Dad battles a bit with walking and it was just so easy. So off-loading and loading the car was no problem.
All of the above was with-in a short walking distance from the Falls. As you will see from the pictures, the walkways are very nice, well placed and kept clean and safe.
I had to visit the small shop to buy coffee, sugar and milk (actually much more stuff available) because it was not provided in the unit.
The meal and service in the restaurant was reasonable but not particularly tasty.
***The fee payable at the gate on entry to the park is a standard fee payable at all national parks in South Africa and is NOT for the pocket of the Guard. The amount payable is determined by the nationality of the visitor.***
I will definitely return to spend more time and be able to truely experience the glorious falls and the surrounding national park.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCHSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed at the Augrabies Falls Rest Camp, within the park itself, in preference to a privately owned guest house or hotel located outside the park, and were very happy with our choice. We had 2 adjoining units, with nice views towards the falls (our rooms overlooked the rock escarpments rather than the waterfall itself). The bedrooms were spacious and clean, with a kitchen area enabling a limited amount of self catering (which we didn't make use of). Ranch sliders opened onto a terraced area with table and seating and small barbecue. There were several entertaining small animals running about - we saw rock dassies, desert squirrels, lots of different types of lizards and birds. Immediately behind our rooms there was a fenced in pool with sun loungers - we enjoyed a late afternoon swim and an early morning swim and were the only people who made use of the pool. (there was an individual pool for each group of 5 or 6 units.) We had our meals in the restaurant - friendly service, though our waitress at dinner was clearly very inexperienced and made many mistakes with our orders. The food was OK but unexceptional, with mainly game choices.

The falls themselves were running quite low as there had been little rainfall for months, but the rock formations are dramatic and even at a low water level the falls were impressive.

One small niggle was that the air conditioning unit in our room didn't work and it was so hot when we were there we had difficulty sleeping. We were also slightly miffed by the additional "fee" we were required to pay by the SANParks employee manning the entrance gate to the park - the fee transpired to be a mandatory gratuity imposed by the man himself.

  • Liked — The convenient access to the Augrabies Falls and the great views
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augrabies Falls National Park
2.8 mi away
The Falls Guest House
The Falls Guest House
#1 of 2 in Augrabies Falls National Park
74 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dundi Lodge
Dundi Lodge
#1 of 9 in Augrabies Falls National Park
94 reviews
21.7 mi away
Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Daberas Guest Farm
Daberas Guest Farm
#5 of 9 in Augrabies Falls National Park
6 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
30.3 mi away
Tutwa Desert Lodge
Tutwa Desert Lodge
#4 of 9 in Augrabies Falls National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augrabies Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augrabies Rest Camp

Property: Augrabies Rest Camp
Address: Augrabies Falls National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Augrabies Falls National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Augrabies Falls National Park
Number of rooms: 59

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing