We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing "Out Of Africa" Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamilton Parks Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As you turn off the highway through an imposing white entrance this is it . From modern roadways
into "the real thing"-the African bush . You are surrounded by dense rich foliage and follow a
twisting road for about 2 kilometers before reaching the lodge. The buildings are beautiful.
Cottages are scattered throughout the property. There are no other houses in sight. Just the bush veldt and the sounds of birds, crickets and faint animal sounds in the distance-absolute bliss.
Kurt and his staff were helpful and kind assisting us in every way.The breakfasts and evening meals are cosy and excellent. The rooms are large and the fireplace was a plus considering that the evenings can get chilly even in the summer.
The only thing I could have wished for was a bigger double bed and a duvet.
Other than that my husband and I and a business colleague absolutely loved the experience and are going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages on the edge of the property. Room 15 is a good one. This allows you to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent two nights at this Lodge as we wanted to visit Blyde River Canyon and drive along the panoramic route before travelling to a private game reserve in Kruger.
Kurt and his family made us extremely welcome and we enjoyed some great breakfasts and evening meals with other guests in the dining room.
We were impressed with our comfortable and well equipped room and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of the location. The resident ponies, dogs and hen also added to our enjoyment!
The lodge is located down a 2km narrow concrete track off the main road. You need to drive with care, but we had no problems using the track with our Toyota Corolla hire car.
John and Sue

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1johnandsue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed during the African winter in July. Kurt and his staff were extremely lovely to our family during our stay of three nights. They cared about the small things important to my family of future in-laws such as talking to us at the bar whilst fixing our alcoholic beverages, letting us make a fuss of their friendly dogs and even laid on a bottle of complementary fizz when my partner and I broke the news one evening we had gotten engaged at God's Window nearby. Our room was comfortable and we loved the logs so we could make our own fire each evening to warm this further. My partner and I also enjoyed the home cooked food they provided. Our personal favourite was Kurt's love for his pet chicken that he disclosed during the Winter he gets a basket out for each night so it can sleep in the porch area in the warmth. It can be found there every night and enjoys to be stroked by guests. We were surprised by how much we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again, as it will always be special for us as a couple. Many thanks for your kind hospitality!! (J&L, L's parents and sister)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonP- W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We could spend hours writting about the view the food, the assistance, the road and the animals and the rustic rooms... But the thing that makes this place special are the people, truely folks here love the place and love to share their place with other.

If you get chance visit and stay a while,..

Room Tip: Book early... Eat in ... Enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pfb53Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked this for the night pre entering Kruger on safari via a popular bookings web-site and didn't have particularly high expectations - I should have! Wonderful food and a warm welcome added to a great family room. There isn't much to recommend Hazyview so staying here, 15km away, makes good sense. It is 2km off the road in a valley with a private road - drive carefully. Top tip - use the GPS Lat and Long co-ordinates to get there rather than asking the machine for the hotel by name. A tip from experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night before going to the Kruger National Park on a self-drive safari. The lodge has a convenient pre-safari location close to the town of Hazyview. Welcoming staff, big room with bathtub and excellent home made food. The lodge is 2km off the main road, be prepared to drive slowly and carefully to get there. Good value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This lodge with a beautiful view is run by a small group of people who make you feel at home straight away! The food served at dinner as well as at breakfast is terrific and the rooms are spacious, bright and clean. In winter time you are provided with wood, so you can warm your room with a lit fire place, which I particularly loved! We stayed here now a couple of times and keep returning for the nice and relaxed atmosphere and it is a true retreat from the busy live :)

Room Tip: all rooms are good and have excellent view over the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiepersol
7.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
7.0 mi away
Bush Baby Glen
Bush Baby Glen
#2 of 4 in Kiepersol
129 reviews
5.0 mi away
Haus Kopatsch
Haus Kopatsch
#1 of 2 in Kiepersol
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Parks Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Parks Country Lodge

Address: R40, White River Road, Kiepersol 1241, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Kiepersol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kiepersol
Price Range: $67 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Parks Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amindst the foothills, close to the Kruger National Park lies the rustic colonial Hamilton Parks Lodge, surrounded by over 400 ha of indigenous bushland and is teaming with birdlife, fuana and flora. This gracious thatched homestead is set in lush gardens and is a perfect place to relax and recharge. The spacious rooms are comfortably furnished to reflect your ambient surroundings while they overlook and escarpment of indigenous busland and mountains. Each room is furnished with a single, double, queen or king size esemble as well as a pleasant sitting are to soak up the African afternoon sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hamilton Parks Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Parks Country Lodge South Africa/Kiepersol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing