We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Highly recommended.
Extremely beautiful venue.
Kids friendly!
Great food.
Beautiful accommodation.
Great staff.

Room Tip: The cottage was perfect for a family.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

Dawsons was our final stop on a tour around Mpumalanga, and as part of a gift for my wife's birthday. On booking we knew it would be a decent venue, however our expectations were exceeded by far. The staff are extremely accommodating with nothing being too much trouble, their attitude and commitment to making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable has made Dawsons one of our top venues in SA.

The food is freshly prepared and of such a high standard we were completely blown away, the wine list is varied and priced well within reason, the rooms are large and well equipped, the activities are very worthwhile and the pricing is exceptional value for money. The only slight draw back for Dawsons is the lack of game variety, but the essence of the venue is not in the game, but in the complete refreshing and relaxation experience.

We highly recommend the quad biking through the farm with the game guide, he is knowledgeable and easy to talk to and make sure you do a picnic lunch when going to Dawsons!

One of our favorite moments each evening was while we were at dinner, the fireplace was lit and by the time we got back to the room all we did was stoke the fire and add more wood, get a book and poured another glass of wine.

There is nothing that is too much effort for the staff at Dawsons, they simply go the extra mile without question, from our private dinner in front of the fire place to having breakfast in the Autumn sun.

Dawsons is an excellent example of how a small venue should be run, thanks to all the staff at Dawsons for making our stay extremely memorable, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask, they will accommodate virtually all requests!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We went to Dawsons last year and since then I have thought about it so much and realised that I really should write a review. It is such a stunning place with amazing views and rooms. In fact everything about it is just wonderful! We spent 3 weeks travelling in South Africa and were lucky enough to stay in some beautiful places but Dawsons really left its mark on us!! The service is outstanding and nothign is too much trouble. The food is fantastic. The rooms are huge and full of character. We did the quad biking while we were there and it was so much fun across stunning countryside with animals running alongside us, a brilliant experience! I also had a great massage while i was there, great value for money!!
We travel a lot and this place just had something magical about it. We would love to return but for now have a picture we took of the stunning scenery while we were there on our wall to remind us of our stay!
If you are near this area or planning your trip it is definitely worth going via Dawsons, we cannot recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pollk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ag p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle Zimmer sind gleich schön
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KF120595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberton
8.3 mi away
Nkomazi Game Reserve
Nkomazi Game Reserve
#1 of 3 in Badplaas
202 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 12 in Barberton
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlumu Lodge
Hlumu Lodge
#2 of 2 in Badplaas
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jathira Guesthouse
Jathira Guesthouse
#5 of 9 in Barberton
3 reviews
20.3 mi away
Royal Sheba Guesthouse
Royal Sheba Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Barberton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge

Address: Nelshoogte Area, Barberton 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Barberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Barberton
Price Range: $148 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Nelshoogte pass in Mpumalanga, lies a spectacular home of luxury... Dawsons Game & Trout Lodge. Dawsons is a place where the sun dances across the open plains at sunrise and sunset, painting the landscape a vivid combination of fiery red, orange, copper and gold. Where large herds of Zebra, Impala, Springbok, Blesbuck, Eland and Wildebeest slowly wander the 2000ha Savannah plains, impervious to time. It is a place where dramatic mountains, waterfalls and perennial streams flow lazily from trout dam to trout dam. Surrounded by open space where you can relish the freedom of timelessness, exploration and peace. It is a place of retreat, of absolute relaxation. We offer magnificent accommodation, superb cuisine, and impeccable service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and South African Hotels so you can book your Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing