We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place. Would stay again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel@Tzaneen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel@Tzaneen
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tzaneen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place. Would stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night on a weekend trip. The hotel is comfortable, quiet and convenient. The pricing is good. Cars are secured behind a manned gate and under cover. The bed is comfortable and the shower is really nice. All in all, very well worth the visit.

However, Crawdaddy's, the on site restaurant should be avoided for both dinner and breakfast. The service is not good. Food quality is lacking. I don't know what other available options there are in the area but I would definitely explore the alternatives. A week earlier we enjoyed an amazing meal at Crawdaddy's Pretoria. It's obviously about supervision (or lack of) that makes the difference.

Enjoy the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoyalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
14
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

value for money, clean quiet hotel, spacious open plan self catering room. a great pit stop on the way to Kruger.

one thing that was missing was a telephone in the room to connect to reception or make calls, besides that it was a good stay.

Room Tip: make your booking on booking.com its cheaper than when you pay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The accommodation here is brilliant. Our family room had a table with 4 chairs, a lounge area,flat screen TV & 2 separate comfortable bedrooms, There was wi-fi that suited my family although poor range so they sat outside. The room also has self catering facilities & a fridge. All was very clean & subtly decorated. Parking area has sunshade so vehicle not too hot.

We only stayed 1 night but the reason I gave this hotel 4 instead of 5 stars is because when we checked in our card was charged although we had already paid for the accommodation months earlier. On check-in I was told we would have to pay for breakfast the following day. On closer inspection we noticed we had already paid for the breakfast option. I would say take confirmation documents as we had reserved a family room for 2 adults & 2 children but were allocated room for 2 adults only.This would be my main negative point. There was a little noise from the road & the kids had noisy guests outside their room at midnight, Neither of these things I could hold hotel responsible for.

I complained at the front desk regarding double payment/breakfast & attendant immediately notified restaurant to expect us for breakfast. He also asked how would we want the money re-paid. We opted for cash otherwise would have been hit with the exchange rate but this had all been sorted by time we checked out. It would have been worse had this been our last night in South Africa.

The restaurant Crawdaddys. We had a lovely meal very full afterwards excellent value & cooked to our exact specifications. The restaurant was packed so can only guess it has a good reputation locally as a place to eat. Breakfast was good. The manager on for our evening meal seemed genuinely interested - good conversation but not over familiar so he got it spot on.

Only other down point was the swimming pool. It is next to restaurant so did not feel able to use it & be the entertainment show. Middle aged person with middle aged spread - one way to clear the restaurant!

I would be happy to stay here again as no part of our stay had an issue that couldn't be resolved. I would probably request a room on a higher floor as our view out of the front was a wall not too close but not very aesthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kez64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here on our way from J'Burg airport to Kruger NP.

Hotel was clean - clean white fluffy towels, clean crisp white sheets on a huge bed. The parking is very secure with a person at the gate checking everyone in and out.

There is a resturant on-site which has a great cooked breakfast and a good selection of evening meals. We both had a large portion of ribs and chips, plus drinks and dessert and it cost R200.

Staff were friendly and helpful, letting us know the best place to get fuel and shopping supplies (there's a Checkers - tesco type shop - at the main road with 5 mins drive).

If you're in the UK and think of the Premium Inns in the adverts with Lenny Henry - that's this hotel. No hesitation in staying there again if we take that route to Kruger again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marty-glenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel's location is very convenient if you are just passing through Tzaneen, and their restaurant is OK. Parking is safe and the rooms comfortable. We found that making a reservation through bookings.com was about half the price the hotel quoted direct!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LobolaLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
291 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

On the road to Kruger .The hotel was meant for conventions I think. It was huge stonebuilding with nearly no guest when we stayed there. The staff was friendly and helpful , the breakfast Ok. The restaurant near the entrance closed early when we visited the place on a sunday afternoon. The rooms had equipment for selfservice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed here just for a one night stop over. The hotel is right in town, which was very convenient. When we arrived there were no other guest, which worried me a bit. The staff was very nice and helpful and showed us to the room. The room was clean and modern looking. There is a nice balcony off of every room. I was a bit disappointed when I tired cooking dinner and there were no pots, sharp knives, can opener etc. The only supplies were 2 plates, forks, spoons and butter knives. There was no dish soap or sponge which made cleaning the dishes difficult. The bathroom was nice and very clean, but the shower did not drain well and flooded the floor. Overall, it was a fine place for a short stop over. It was comfortable and clean. With a few upgrades, and adding kitchen supplies it would be a great option if you wanted to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meg043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTzaneen, General Manager at Hotel@Tzaneen, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for being the first guests to write a review on Hotel@Tzaneen.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We proud ourselves for our exceptional service and cleanliness standards.
We are confident that our fully equipped kitchens will be ready for you to enjoy the next time you visit our Hotel@Tzaneen.
You can also join us in looking forward to opening our new restaurant and conference centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
9.0 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
8.1 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palmwag Tzaneen
Palmwag Tzaneen
#3 of 13 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel@Tzaneen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel@Tzaneen

Property: Hotel@Tzaneen
Address: Makakota Street, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel@Tzaneen 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel@Tzaneen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing