We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just home from 4 night stay at Shiduli .... perfect in all ways.
Went as group of 4 (2 couples) stayed in rooms 1 and 2 which were gorgeous. Bathroom had amazing stone shower.
The game drives were superb and even 2 days of solid rain did not detract from the outstanding service from our ranger and tracker .... the very wonderful Respect and Lewis who made every ounce of effort to deliver a superb memorable experience.
The food is good and the bar is open all day with very very resonable prices and wonderful service (Patrick and Timothy).
ALL the team were so friendly and service driven .... Smiles tnrougout and always striving to give all guests special memories. They succeeded.
A beautiful property within the reserve (a real benefit) and ability to see the Big 5 but much more.
I think you have it just right here and a great team .... thank you for an amazing new year trip. We will be back (and requesting Respect and Lewis!)

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LCP991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 439 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went on a Saga holiday for 1 week in Sept 13. Whole experience was so wonderful we booked a return visit for the same period in 2014 as soon as we returned to the UK.
The Rangers and Trackers knew their profession and showed us Lions and Cheetahs at almost touching distance. The most memorable was walking to within 15 metres of a Cheetah nursing her young!
The lodge itself has all the amenities necessary but suffers from being close to an arterial road with the attendant noise. However, one could not fault the staff who were always cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 days at Shiduli as the culmination of two & half weeks in South Africa and it was a truly fitting way to end the holiday of a lifetime. All the staff were amazing and Donald & Difference (our guide and tracker) knew their stuff in terms of getting us to see all the big 5. Would highly recommend to anyone going to SA.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andre9166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a magical three day safari at Shiduli Game Lodge. The twice daily game drives were brilliant, thank you to Morris and Connie our ranger and tracker. Karongwe is a large, private reserve allowing the jeeps to go off road at any point to gain better access and viewing of game and birds. Miles of dirt track, and plenty water holes, where we would stop for morning hot drinks and cake or evening sundowners while watching hippos wallowing, impala grazing etc. There are other lodges in the reserve and we did see other jeeps from time to time, but the rangers shared sightings by radio and worked together for the benefit of all guests. We saw the big five, but really we were just as happy bumping along in the open jeep enjoying the experience as a whole, and there are plenty of other wonderful animals and birds to enjoy. Our group at one point left the jeep and walked through the bush to see a beautiful cheetah and her four cubs. The lodge is not especially luxurious, but perfectly adequate, clean and decorated with care. The pool could have been more inviting. Buffet breakfast and lunch was taken at individual tables in the large dining room, but for dinner, all the guests in the jeep sat together with the ranger and ate as one. The food was not sophisticated as some other reviewers have already mentioned, but it was filling and tasty, and the "dinner ladies" were so lovely, as was all the staff we met. They all seemed to muck in and help no matter what their main position. We particularly enjoyed dinner out doors on one night around a huge open fire, which was still smoking 24 hours later.
We were a family with two boys aged 15 and 8. We had come from sight-seeing in Cape Town, and then went onto the bling of Sun City, but Shiduli was the highlight of our amazing holiday in South Africa.

Room Tip: Keep windows and doors locked as Baboons wandered freely and are inquisitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TassTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is a little bit of paradise in the bush. Stayed for 3 nights but could have stayed much longer! Had travelled down from Kruger but this was the highlight of our vacation in South Africa. The staff were friendly and everywhere was spotless. Our ranger and tracker Respect and Lewis really knew their stuff and we had the pleasure of finding the 'big 5' and so much more.
We were so lucky to see the 'big 5,' its not a guaranteed sighting.
Only downside was the food, it was nice but nothing special, but then we weren't there for the food!!
On the list to go back to as soon as we can afford it! Top stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel-o-holic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Shiduli Private Game Lodge offered the experience of a lifetime for viewing the Big Five and other game in the Karongwe Reserve. From the moment we first arrived, we were treated royally. We started with a lodge "overview", followed by a short game reserve orientation, then off on our first game drive. The first one did not disappoint - with sightings of lions, zebras, elephants, and hippos. The subsequent five drives continued to amaze us and offered us the opportunity to check off all of the "big five" along with many other animals, birds, and even a favorite scorpion who greeted us each night as we returned to the lodge.

The rooms were very nice and the grounds offered great viewing of monkeys and other wildlife passing by. The staff was very attentive. It was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at Shiduli last week, and what a fantastic experience. This is a private game lodge that shares their land with some neighboring lodges. They have no shortage of animals roaming the property. We saw all of 'The Big 5' within 2 days.

The level of customer service is outstanding. Our guide and tracker were long time co-workers and they knew how to work together and find/track animals very well. They also stayed as our dedicated guide/tracker through our entire stay, which was nice.

The vehicles they use have 9-10 seats that are elevated like a movie theater. Very comfortable and no ones view is ever obstructed. Our land rover was never full, they usually would add an additional vehicle before anyone filled up, which kept groups as more of a small intimate team. The guides even dined with us in the evening.

The rooms are very clean and come with mosquito nets kept in good condition. There is a small fridge in each room that they restock with bottled water for free if you use any. The bar was open pretty much the whole day/evening and is well stocked.

The food was top notch, while the selection wasn't huge (this is not a large game reserve...their max size is ~52 people), all of the food was expertly cooked and was different at every meal.

Possible downsides (depending on who is reading this review): there are no TVs in the room, and WIFI range doesn't reach there either. If you go to the main lodge there is a free computer to use, and they have WIFI should you need it. Also: this is a private game lodge and shouldn't be confused or compared with Kruger National Park. They are 'very' different things, and it all depends what type of experience you're looking for.

Bottom line: if you want a small, more personal safari adventure, Shiduli is the place for you.

Room Tip: High number rooms from 21-25 are near the back of the lodge and offer a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam5462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
37.2 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
32.1 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#5 of 103 in Hoedspruit
279 reviews
35.0 mi away
Palmwag Tzaneen
Palmwag Tzaneen
#2 of 13 in Tzaneen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiduli Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Address: Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve | R36 Highway, Hoedspruit, Limopop, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tzaneen
Price Range: $333 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiduli Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shiduli Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiduli Private Game Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing