We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend three nights in this lodge and had amazing safari experiences. We had four included game drives which were unbelievable. The trackers and rangers were fantastic at finding the game and we were spotted the big 5 amongst many others. The highlight was getting out of our jeeps and being able to walk to within a few feet of a Cheetah.

The lodge itself was fantastic with a lovely pool area to relax by between game drives and comfortable rooms which were well furnished. I am not a massive fan of buffet meals and found the food to vary between meals but it was OK. I would certainly rate a private game reserve over the sprawling Kruger Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am a tour operator and would recommend this hotel to my guests and friends.
The rangers on the game drives are excellent...With their guidance, we even walked up to a Cheetah....Both memorable and humbling!

The food is good and the rooms are tastefully designed.
Staff are friendly....Grounds are lovely.

I like the south African theme throughout. There is a "Jurassic" park style gate at the entrance when you know you have reached the African bush but in style.

I loved it and hope to return soon.

Jayne

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaynedunnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What friendly staff they have, Johan the manager arranged a couple of extras for our wedding annivarsary (private table and a bottle of wine under the lapa) everyone wanted to make sure our stay was unforgettable from Johan right through to the gardener! We found it very special and are highly appreciative to all at Shiduli, we loved it and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a lovely lodge and feels very authentic. The walls are thin between the rooms though so keep that in mind. Love the public areas and the staff are so friendly! Game drives are the best, the Rangers and Trackers are to notch!

Room Tip: The walls are very thin between the rooms - watch out for monkeys trying to get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgurlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was on a tour with Friendly Planet, and we stopped at this lodge for a few nights. The lodge grounds are very beautiful and the room was spectacular. The rooms are a little ways away from the main lodge so it does make it a little frightening walking to and from at night with minimal light. There are also monkeys that come onto the grounds, but they tend to keep their distance if you do the same. The lodge also provides all the meals for their guests served as buffet style, which each one was very good. However, you do have to pay for whatever drinks you get.

While we were here we had the opportunity to go out on four safari trips if we chose to, two in the early morning and two in the afternoon. Our tracker and guide were both very knowledgeable. We got to see all of the big five in this park, which we weren't expecting to see the leopard. It helps being such a small park because the different rangers would communicate over their radios to tell other jeeps where they saw the more impressive animals. This reserve was, in my opinion, nicer than Kruger Park since were were able to go off the paths. The drivers took us off the paths right up close to the animals. At Kruger the drivers are limited to the roads and many of the roads have miles in between where the animals can be unseen. The Karongwe Reserve was also a bit quieter since they only take out their few jeeps at a time rather than many others crowding around.

Room Tip: The walls of the rooms can be a tad thin, so try to get a room near someone you know to try to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank weaverlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed two days at the lodge and had a very nice experience. Our room, unfortunately, was one-half of a suite with only a light door between the rooms and our room only had a tub with a hand shower. Room was also very small but relatively comfortable. Luckily we knew the two ladies using the other half, so they stayed quiet. Would not have been the same if some unknown was in the other room. The food was very good and the staff was very pleasant. All of the people involved with the game drives were fantastic and very knowledgeable. Can't say we saw a lot of animals but definitely saw a few of the main ones and fantastic sunsets. All in all it was a nice place to stay and a unique experience. Did not get to use the beautiful pool but was nice to see.

Room Tip: Try to make sure that you have a real shower and no connecting doors in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Shiduli Lodge in September 2012 and it was fantastic. The rooms have an elegant rustic look and feel to it but it still very comfortable. The grounds of the lodge are very well maintained and the staff is extremely friendly. The only drawback was that the grounds are not super well lit so when you're walking around at night it can be a little intimidating. Overall definitely worth it though!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
37.2 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
32.1 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
374 reviews
35 mi away
Palmwag Tzaneen
Palmwag Tzaneen
#3 of 13 in Tzaneen
7 reviews
13.1 mi away
Garonga Safari Camp
Garonga Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Makalali Private Game Reserve
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiduli Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Address: Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve | R36 Highway, Hoedspruit, Limopop, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tzaneen
Price Range: $339 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiduli Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Shiduli Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiduli Private Game Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing