We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing wildlife experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing wildlife experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights at Shiduli and it exceeded all our expectations. The setting is beautiful, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the food is good and the accomodation clean and comfortable.However what made this holiday so very special was the animals that we saw up VERY close.We have been on several safari holidays before but nothing came anywhere near matching up to the experience we had here. Our trackers Donald and Evan were excellent and very knowledgeable. We were able to track cheetahs on foot through the bush. We saw all of the big five and so much more. Whatever we wanted to see they went out of their way to find for us.We definitely wont be going anywhere else in the future if we want to go on safari - Shuduli has certainly spoilt us for that. We look forward to returning again in the not so distant future.
Thank you to everyone at Shuduli who worked so hard to make our holiday so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mickandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    68
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
148
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Shiduli goes great lengths to meet the expectation of a 5 star lodge. The lodge as such is nice, the staff at the lodge is great and there is a great pool to relax and a bar to enjoy a few drinks. But this is a game lodge and game is what it is all about. Karongwe is a great looking reserve and we did enjoy a couple of nice sightings. But nor the field guide, nor the tracker showed much enthusiasm at their job. I've had city bus drivers showing more interest in their environment than these two ... The landy was in a noticeable state of decay and when we ran a flat tyre, the actual surprise was that the other tyres still had enough rubber going to survive. Perhaps we were unfortunate with our guide, perhaps we found ourselves in a reserve-vehicle (?), perhaps the Karongwe wildlife was relaxing. But the game viewing was most certainly not a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Shiduli from 20th Sept to 24th Sept 2012 definately and experience of a lifetime. All the staff absolutely fantastic, always big smiles, laughing, giggling and so so efficient, they made everyone feel special. Our accommodation was beautiful and I was so taken with the shower and the peddle floor in it. The food was wonderful and tasty. We were very fortunate to have Morris 2 and Michael as our ranger and tracker and they did not let us down, we saw the Big 5, on the last day we saw the elusive Leopard actually we saw three of them. Walking with the cheetahs wow, elephants/ giraffes/rhinos just feet away from you in the jeep, lioness so close to the jeep that you could have lent out and clapped it. Saw lions eating their kill. We stood and watched the Cheetah's eating their kill also. I could go on and on and still not cover all the fantastic experiences we had. Standing out in the middle of nowhere watching the sun going down and drinking a glass of cold white wine. Honestly if you want an experience of a lifetime go to Shiduli and I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
376 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I believe Shiduli has found the magic formula. Really great game viewing, comfortable accommodation, good food and friendly staff - all at an affordable price. It will be a long time before I forget the infectious smiles and giggles, the wonderful sightings of the animals and birds and the sometimes interesting food choices. Cannot say I was too fond of crocodile but glad that I tried it. Anyway the alternative was very acceptable. Our room was very comfortable with a huge bed and rustic stone shower. His and hers sinks made it easier to get ready at five am in the morning! By the way, I wonder if anyone else noticed the sand art outside at the rear of their chalets. We had a stick man and a giraffe whereas someone else claimed a horse's head!
Last but very definitely not least the rangers and trackers are amazing and our particular thanks go to Solomon and Stephen who did their utmost, and succeeded, to ensure that we saw as much as possible. Also thanks to Jen who gave us the biggest source of amusement we have had in years! Well done and what a great sport.
A final thought, you just cannot beat a gin and tonic from a tin cup watching the sun go down while out in the bush.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had an amazing time at this great little gem. Terrific family run hotel in the middle of a large 25k acre private game reserve. The rooms (they only have 24) were well appointed (no TV if that matters to you) and had a fun, lodge feel. Thatched roofed buildings and fun animal printed furniture and pillows add to the experience. The food was excellent and plentiful. Bar prices were cheap. They have a nice pool that you can enjoy during the day between game drives.

We did two game drives and a bush walk while there. The guide was excellent and accomodating. We saw all the big 5, 4 of which pretty early in the day. The leopard was a bit elusive but we did see him late in the day. The day started off watching a pride of lions chewing on the breakfast of a recent zebra kill. Seeing that from less than 10 feet away was amazing. Tons of giraffe and elephants. Lots of impala and other deer like creatures. Rhino, elephant, wildebeast, warthogs, zebra, etc. You'll see it all. This place is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dwstonesifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent accommodation, very good food (buffet style) with plenty of choice and wonderful staff, nothing is too much for them. Simon (head ranger) and Evans (tracker) were brilliant and made our stay there one to remember for always. Would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrissie139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had an amazing time the Lodge and Staff excellent, very friendly,nothing too much trouble. Food wonderful. Simon and Evans did a fantastic job on Game Drives especially looking after an 86 year old, and I managed a bush walk with Simon to lean on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pedrocohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
23.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
32.2 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#7 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
9.6 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#11 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiduli Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Property: Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Address: Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve | R36 Highway, Hoedspruit, Limopop, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiduli Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiduli Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiduli Private Game Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing