We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great reserve”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely lodge, great staff, amazing sightings. Room awesome, food very good and we were looked after wel throughout. Saw 2 leopards on first night, lions and walked with cheetahs. Great to see Big 5 up so close! Thanks to all. Thoroughly recommended for all ages!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ColinOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    70
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
151
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Shiduli with our two kids (8 and 12) in April 2012. What a wonderful experience! the lodge is really nice and staff excellent. Before getting there, we had had a hard time finding a place which would agree to welcome our kids, but Shiduli not only agreed to have us but the staff also far exceeded our expectations. The kids particularly liked ranger Morris II and tracker Luiz who really went the extra mile to make this experience very unique. Besides allowing us to meet the big five at very close distance, they also spent extra time to show us the small wonders (medicinal herbs, animal tracks, birds, chameleons etc..). If you go there, make sure to ask to participate in the world famous "bush chocolate spitting contest", we broke records at it, under the professional guidance of our coaches Morris II and Luiz!
Shiduli has that special family-like touch that we could not find at the higher end lodge we went to after.
In summary, we loved every minute of our four days at Shiduli!

Room Tip: some rooms are closer to the road than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissFamilyLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Having been to far more expensive lodges Shiduli gave us a great surprise the lodge was very comfortable with good food and very nice rooms but its major feature is the animals and the superb skills and expertise of our guide Wessel and tracker Steven.
These guys had us surrounded by a pride of lions, elephants close enough to sniff Steven sitting on the tracker seat, four seperate leopard sightings two of which were the closest I have ever had and just when you think it can't get any better we found two cheetahs resting in the shade and were allowed to leave the truck and view them on foot, when they got up we followed at a respectful distance through the bush until Wessel decided they deserved to go on their way alone. An unforgettable experience.
Wessel is a gifted guide very unobtrusive, allowing you to enjoy without interruption and yet informative and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Having spent time in this private reserve two years ago, it was interesting to come back. First time to stay at Shiduli and it is a very nice place. We stayed for two nights. Staff is really friendly and helpful and the rooms are good. We stayed in #22 at the back, large bathroom and a good room.

Drives were good, even though too focused on finding leopards instead of enjoying all the wildlife we encountered. We didn't see any leopards, but not for lack of trying! It's about the experience as a whole, not just that one leopard :) We did have really excellent sightings of several cheetahs, the lions, elephants and rhinos.

There was an issue with the pool cleaning, so it wasn't the best swimming experience. The food was average and restaurant service was sometimes quite slow.

Overall, it is good value for money, as the drives are the main thing. The lodge is very nice and staff helpful, so a couple of minor issues didn't spoil the experience for us :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Two nights here as part of Friendly Planet tour. Rooms were a pleasant surprise. Most fun were the game drives. Lots of animals: Lions, elephants, giraffes. staff was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Stay near lodge. Nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

A brilliant holiday at shiduli, on pulling up we were welcomed with a lovely drink and they were awaiting our arrival. We were taken to our room #24 which was at the back. Standard room had a comfortable large bed. The bathroom was a really good size with very large shower unit and two sinks. shampoo and showergels provided. mini bar was provided in the room and was not expensive. Internet was also free of charge. The pool area was very relaxing and clean.
We could not wait for our game drive awaiting on the deck simon introduced himself and stated he would be our ranger and Evans out tracker. They were both very informative and excellent at their jobs. They made our drives very fun and interesting and would go the extra mile to get us great viewing of the animals.. never a dull moment. If you want to get up close to wild animals Shiduli is the place to go. We saw all the big five within 24hours. We also got to walk with cheetahs on two occasions which was amazing only feet awat from these amazing big cats.
Shiduli also offers great food and great staff to who always make you feel welcome and could not do more for you. We did not want to leave and are already looking to go back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jules24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Some may read that this review is my second for the same place in a short time but once you have been here once you will want to come back. It is nature and you can not demand what you see or how close you get.

The first time I went Safar I wanted to see everything but missed out on the elusive Leopard, the second time I saw Leopard 8 times in a week and on 7 occasions they were different Leopards.

Again my ranger was Simon and my tracker was Evans and they don't disappoint in the way they set the drives out, you choose what you want to see and they try their best to get you the sightings that you want. Conservation is always a priority here and you can help by leaving a donation at the end of your stay.

To spend quality time watching Leopard, Cheetah, Lion, Leopard, Elephant and amongst Elephant when they trumpet is just amazing. Follow Shiduli Lodge on Facebook there is a page there and for other lodges at Karongwe, it will give you a good idea of what is there !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are a good standard and any problems just talk to Susanne or Sammy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coppamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
23.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
32.2 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#6 of 102 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.6 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#12 of 102 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiduli Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Property: Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Address: Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve | R36 Highway, Hoedspruit, Limopop, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiduli Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shiduli Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiduli Private Game Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing