We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mashutti Country Lodge
Ranked #6 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've visited Mashutti for the second time, reception and welcome are excellent. Rooms are very clean and spacy (big). Breakfast is superb, an overload of choices ... Even when we checked out, Mark gaves as some pointers and hints for our next stay in Mashutti.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashutti, Manager at Mashutti Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mr Ooms

Thank you for your positive review of Mashutti Country Lodge on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure welcoming you again. We certainly hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Mark Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in this lodge a few times now and the lodge has a peaceful and relaxing surrounding with stunning views of the Tzaneen town and Dam . The lodge provides free Wifi and though the lodge is about 8 km up the hill from Tzaneen the mobile phone signal is very good .The lodge is situated in a huge plot and has abundant trees and bird life . We had both supper and breakfast at the lodge and being vegetarian I was well catered for and really enjoyed the meals .Mark really knows how to treat his guests and was very helpful, his staff are very friendly .Our rooms were large ,clean and I slept comfortably during my short stay .

Room Tip: There are fantactic views from the room with the lower floor opening direcly into the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashutti, Manager at Mashutti Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Vijay

Thank you for your positive review and kind words. We try our utmost to keep our guests as comfortable and relaxed as possible. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Fantastic lodge!!!
Great views great food and 1st class service
We will for sure go back here when we return to SA
Lots to see and to do in the neigbourhood
Magoebaskloof crocodile farm Tzaneen downtown

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashutti, Manager at Mashutti Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Marc

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. All your kind comments are highly appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly share this with the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Mark Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently visitied Mashutti Lodge with a large group of scientists during a fieldtrip in Limpopo province, and though the stay was brief had a very pleasant time. The staff at Mashutti were very helpful and also flexible to small changes that are unavoidable when travelling with a group. The lodge itself is wonderfully situated with a great view - so despite this being work it certainly did not feel so - they also gave some good advice to visit local sights for the the few people who stayed on a few days

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaGFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashutti, Manager at Mashutti Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hi Micha

Thank you very much for the review on tripadvisor. Our team are pleased to hear that your group enjoyed their stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your group. I remember you left sunny South Africa to go home to snow. I hope your weather at home is warming up for the summer.

Kind Regards

Mark Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This lodge is in another beautiful part of our country. The views & surrounding scenery are stunning! The accommodation was very comfortable & clean. Most enjoyable breakfast. On the downside........disappointing evening meal & the service. If you want to be near Haenertsburg / Magoebaskloof & hiking trails, it is quite a distance to travel. Maybe there are walking trails etc. in the vicinity that we were not aware of. Enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank moira321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is an above average conference venue, with stunning views of the surrounding forested hills and valleys. Nearby Agatha crocodile farm is well worth a visit too. The lodge has comfortable accommodation and a pool. The food is homely and venue functional.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The best lodge experience during our 2 week visit to South Africa. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The view from our balcony was spectacular! The grounds were very well maintained and the staff was very friendly. It is high up on a hill and tucked away from the town so you are free to enjoy the beautiful landscape in and around the lodge grounds. June is really cold so bundle up if you will be planning outdoor activities. The rooms have heaters so the temperature is comfortable at night. If you are an early riser you can enjoy the family of small monkeys that cross the grounds daily. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
3.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
158 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
170 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
105 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palmwag Tzaneen
Palmwag Tzaneen
#3 of 13 in Tzaneen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mashutti Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashutti Country Lodge

Address: AB14 Agatha Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range: $55 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mashutti Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mashutti Country Lodge is a Three Star Lodge offering our Guests Four Star Services. Our Lodge is build on a Beautiful 17 Hectare Farm nestling in the mountains of Tzaneen, This Lodge offers you a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere were you can escape the Hustle and Bustle of the every-days rat race. Mashutti Country Lodge offers a full A La Carte Restaurant with a fully Licensed Bar. 3 Confrecne Venues are available to you for Meetings, Team buildings and Workshops. Our venues overlook the beautiful Tzaneen and the woods surrounding it. We Here at Mashutti is also proud to say that we have two Astonishing Newly Build Wedding Venues that will cater for your every need on that special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mashutti Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing