We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Ranked #1 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Another couple and ourselves booked an evening meal at Kings Walden. The food was some of the best we ever tasted, well presented and delicious. We strolled around the gardens before our meal and enjoyed drinks overlooking the valley as day turned into night. The warm glow of the moon rising over the faraway mountains was truly magnificent. We hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkennebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 208 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The room was very spacious, comfortably furnished in a contemporary style with a fire place and nice touches like candles and vases of roses. It is a small hotel with 6 rooms. The bathroom was enormous with a large bath and shower. The gardens and the views are spectacular; having a drink at the pool or overlooking the valley was special. The staff were friendly, courteous and discreet.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of the place one has to visit to appreciate what total relaxation is.I had a wonderful time with the KWGM staff,from the owners,Minette & husband to the kitchen staff to Thabo & Uncle Sam,you guys rock.Thank you for the hospitality you showed to us.Another trip to Agatha Road Tzaneen is on the cards.

Charles & Abi

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dengedza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very disappointing return to my favourite spot in the world, and had I not enjoyed the five-star experience Kings Walden offered years ago, I guess I wouldn't have known any better.

A few points of concern:
- Upon our arrival, there was no-one to receive us and when someone eventually did approach us, they didn't know about our visit

- We were super tired when we checked in, and just needed an afternoon nap to revive the spirits, but the staff were chattering away outside our rooms very loudly, to the point where one just couldn't fall asleep.

- Dinner was lovely, however the table-cloths were dirty from the previous meal's sitting

- Upon opening my room door, the handle fell off. It had obviously been that way for a while as the handle slid back onto the shaft with ease.

- We only met our hosts during dinner on the second day of our stay, and they were sipping drinks while on duty.

- Although the garden has been beautifully laid out, the agapanthas are completely taking over and the sanctuary that I always like returning to has become overgrown with these plants.

- Upon checking out, we were overcharged and had we not checked our bill, we would've been charged for an additional room.

All in all, compared to the standard that I had known Kings Walden for, the stay was very average.

Would I return? Perhaps.
Not for a stay though, but maybe for a drink and a visit to the garden to say good day to the place I've come to love so much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MejMoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an excellent accomodation, restaurant and property. The room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The fireplace and shower which I never wanted to leave were especially nice touches. Dinner was fantastic!! Really wonderful food in terms of quality, taste, and presentation. Breakfast was also excellent. The standout for me was the grounds. Wow, the gardens were incredibly beautiful! I really enjoyed meandering around, I only wish I would have more time and a clearer day as I think the view is also quite likely very stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After our Sat Nav had taken us to Agatha Street instead of Agatha Road which is around 15 kilometers away we telephoned to get directions and Sophie offered to collect us and show us the way. When we eventually arrived we at the Kings Walden we had a warm welcome from Sophie and Steven, who have apparently only been managing the Hotel for the last two months our stay was for 1 night on our way to the Kruger Park. Steven checked us in and gave us a rundown of the evenings menu in some detail. It sounded very nice and we were not dissapointed, the food was of Michelin Star quality in both taste and presentation we were travelling with friends and we were all blown away with the food, location and service offered during our stay, just a pity it was only for the one night. I would recommend the Kings Walden without hesitation and next time would stay for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I, and my sister-and-brother in law stayed at Kings Walden last weekend and had the most wonderful, relaxing, amazing stay.

Firstly, the website does not prepare you for how beautiful the grounds and views are at the guest house itself. A luscious panorama of mountains and trees and hills and valleys surround the guest house, so you have a permanent 360 degree view. The guest house itself is beautifully furnished in a modern, minimalistic but comfortable way and we had the best bed ever!

We had met the owners, Billy and Minette, before in our travels to the Okavango Delta, so it was such a treat to see them again and see how they have instilled their own style and passion into their guest house with a focus on excellent food, wonderful wines, relaxed ambience and world class service.

The staff are extremely friendly and we loved meeting Barney and Max, who were very professional and looked after us so well.

This is such a lovely romantic hideaway - I could have stayed for a lot longer than we did.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tzaneen hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
109 reviews
11.8 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
7 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#2 of 15 in Tzaneen
79 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Walden Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Walden Garden Manor

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range: $170 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Walden Garden Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Walden Garden Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing