We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with a spectacular view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Ranked #1 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! Even though we arrived a little bit late for lunch, they prepared a wonderful fresh salad for us to enjoy with a nice glass of wine. The rooms in which we stayed were super, lots of room in a colonial setting with a fabulous batthroom. We enjoyed some time at the pool, where we were entertained by a group of monkeys. After freshening up, we enjoyed the spectaculair view with a nice bottle of South African champagne. Diner was just as great.
All in all a fantastic location. The people that managed the place for the last years are since the end of October also the owners. I wish them lots of success with their fantastic place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Carolien023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Kings Walden Garden Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 192 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent two nights at Kings Walden. What a treat! The rooms were large and comfortable and included a log fire. The staff were friendly and the service excellent. Our hosts, Billy and Minette were attentive and made sure that we enjoyed our stay. Billy, who is also a chef, served up delicious dinners. An added bonus are the wonderful gardens and magnificent views! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent three nights at Kings Walden after a long drive from northern Limpopo. From the moment we arrived we felt completely relaxed and at home. Superb service, generously sized rooms with luxurious bathrooms and a welcoming log fire for the cool nights, made our stay feel really special. Billie and Minette were warm and welcoming, offering friendly advice and good suggestions for days out. The food was superb and the staff - especially Barney and Sam - were courteous and friendly. The famous blue gum tree and the beautiful gardens which Billie and Minette are carefully restoring are stunningly situated with spectacular views over the Letsitele Valley. This is a very special place and we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I (with friends) showed up recently at Kings Walden after a long day driving though Zimbabwe. We were met by Billy and Minette McKechnie who immediately charmed us with excellent services, their infectious enthusiasm and a our best meal during our 14 days in Africa.

Our rooms were warm and relaxing. There's something about a fire in your bedroom's fireplace and a modern shower / bath that make the stay something special.

The meal included 4 great courses, with Billy's special Fennel soup and fresh Salmon that had just been flown in from Scotland. The breakfast was equally special, with a vegetable Omelet that I haven't seen duplicated in fine restaurants.

Early the next morning I enjoyed the view past their famous blue gum tree, watching a storm roll in through the valley. The view was terrific.

Once they restore their gardens to their full glory, this will once again be a great place to spend long weekends relaxing.

Room Tip: One of the rooms in their new (or refurnished) wing, with fireplaces.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryGamso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent three nights at Kings Walden during our trip across South Africa. Really enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse. Large rooms, beautiful garden (tree struck by lightning!) and spectacular view of the mountains and valley! New managers Billy and his wife were very friendly and helpful in everything, as were waiters Bunny, Sam and the rest of the staff. Delicious breakfast and dinner in lovely dining room. Very nice cappuccino as well, which we enjoyed in the spacious living room with fireplace and terrace. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My fiance and I are in our late 20's and on deciding to enjoy a nothing less than perfect romantic getaway for the two of us we stumbled upon Kings Walden Garden Manor online. Let me start by saying thankyou as the service we recieved was that unrivalled by any 5 star celebrity's from the minute we arrived at the gates until the point where our bags were packed for us to leave , the experience at Kings Wladen in terms of the cuisine , scenery , the garden , history , accomodation and facilities exceeded our expectations on every level. If I had any crit whatsoever that would be that even though a picture can tell 1000 words , no picture can do justice to how beautiful everything really was!

Our arrival at the hotel brought with us the thickest mist , which my have proved a hinderance to the Europeans enjoying the beautiful 300 degree view , however Billy and Minette (the new owners) after showing us to our suite, led us on a guided tour of the premises and the gardens indulging us in history dating over 100 years. It was a personal touch which I thoroughly enjoyed , the feeling of being lost in a misty blossoming garden with my fiance was magical. We were further able to enjoy a private lunch catered for the two of us at one of the various spots in the garden.

The rooms are located in the original farmhouse which has been renovated to afford guests luxury accomodation in modern contemporary farmhouse styled rooms. Our room (no.5) had the most comfortable king size bed placed right in front of the fireplace with a floor adorned by a zebra skin. Kingsize bed was matched with a kingsize bathroom, filled with candles , a black cobblestone shower and a bathtub big enough for two , which when enjoyed by two , best it be done bathed in the light of the moon coming in from the massive skylight , which are apparently in every bathroom.

The menu is a set four course menu which I found to be restricting . Both my pallate and I however were pleasently suprized by the quality , presentation and generous portions (considering its fine dining) . Our four course meal on the night consisted of a Norweigen Smoked Salmon Carpaccio with a salsa , edible flowers and a lemon vinaigrette , this was followed by the most delicious French brown onion soup served with a freshly baked parmesan bruschetta. Our main was a Golden brown grilled duck breast cooked to utter perfection with herbed potato wedges , a red wine jous and topped with deep fried leak. Dessert afforded us the option of cheese platter , freshly baked strawberry cheese cake , double chocolate pudding and the highlight of the desserts , the white nougat ice-cream cake served with a granadella syrup.
A perfect meal however is not enjoyed without great service and for that my fiance and I have Sam to thank as well as Lizzy (the chef) who indulged us prior to dinner as to what was on the menu that evening.

After reading a few reviews about Kings Walden I was suprised to come across someone complaing about a broken TV ....... Buddy....... in a place this beautiful and magical , I ask you , who really wants to watch cricket. ( You should try out that bath tub for two )

Steve

Room Tip: Room 5 , as the story goes its haunted and if you into that kind of thing, we had our lights dimming...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose Kings Walden Garden Manor after our travel company recommended The Coach House and I was not impressed with their reviews. I began a search for somewhere else in the area and stumbled upon Kings Walden. I am so glad we did not settle for less than perfect and perfect is exactly what you will find here.

Upon arrival, we were shown to room #4 which is a good choice if you enjoy privacy with personal outdoor patio. This was the only thing I could not get a good feel for when booking online, which room should we choose. For those undecided, rooms 1-3 have views over the lush grass of the front extending to the mountains. Room 1, since it is on the end, also has a little patio seating area. Room 4 is nestled in the rear of the property with a secluded private patio; rooms 5-6 are in the main building directly off the lounge area and have views overlooking the pool and gardens. Each room is furnished the same and has the same basic layout. We loved the views from rooms 1-3 so we requested to move and were luckily able to do so.

Since you are in the mountains, it can be a bit cool. We were there mid-September and it was quite chilly. For heat you are provided a basket of wood for the fireplace and the staff will start the fire for you if you like. The basket is refilled daily and the fire keeps the room nice and warm.
The staff is wonderful and provides exceptional service. Jacob is a joy to talk to and he ensures anything you need is promptly taken care of. Evening cocktails are enjoyed either in the lounge or on the patio while soaking up the amazing views of the mountains. Once the sun begins to set, lanterns are lit lining the walkways and front patio which lends a wonderful romantic ambience to the night. We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves for two nights which was a dream come true. It felt like we had our own luxury villa in the mountains. Even the night we shared the property with 5 other guests it never felt crowded.

Now for our favorite part, the food is to die for! We were longing for Kings Walden’s gourmet the entire rest of our trip. The property has recently changed management but do not fear, Billy and Minette, have maintained the same standard of service and quality of food. Billy is a chef and it shows. The appetizers served with your cocktails are mouth watering. Dinner is full of wonderful flavors in every course. Breakfast is also the best breakfast we’ve ever had. It is a full menu of many different choices and can be as much or as little as you wish. If you enjoy hearty morning meals, you will be thrilled you are staying here.

Another reason to stay at Kings Walden is so you can experience what else South Africa has to offer than just amazing game viewing. We stayed three nights to do just that. If you have time do not miss the Panorama Tour which takes you to the beautiful Drakensburg Mountains, through the countryside where the highways take you through game reserve property and you can play a neat game of I Spy to see who can spot giraffes, zebra, impala, elephant etc… as you go along. We also opted for some zip lining with Magoebaskloof Adventures Canopy Tour. We wished we had done the Canyoning tour but it was a bit cold to be trompsing around in the water. If you do the Canopy Tour ask for MJ. She is great fun! If you like to stretch your legs you can hike or go for a run from the property.

Overall, Kings Walden Garden Manor is exceptional in every way from amazing views to mouthwatering gourmet! It was our most favorite stay in South Africa and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 have views over the lush grass of the front extending to the mountains. Room 1, since it i...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
1.4 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
11.8 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
155 reviews
10.2 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#2 of 15 in Tzaneen
71 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
103 reviews
9.8 mi away
Glenogle Farm
Glenogle Farm
#3 of 9 in Haenertsburg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Walden Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Walden Garden Manor

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range: $150 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Walden Garden Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Walden Garden Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing