We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situated, but far out of Tzaneen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sherwoods Country House
Ranked #5 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked the place on booking.com, the Gramin brought us through a long 20km shortcut through the forest, we enjoyed, as we drive a Landcruiser.....not for normal cars.. :-)
The owner are truly great hosts and hands on....we enjoyed our stay.....would come back to the place.
The veranda door could not open, not so nice nod the owner could not find the keys....
Breakfast was truly great and the owner backs her own scones early morning....home made interesting jams and marmalades rounding the portfolio up....
The assistant needs to be trained on the egg side, we ordered all "sunny side up and soft", what we received was far away and over cooked....just a new coated pan and a pit training would do...
The rooms give the impression that they saw better times and need a bit maintenance...., but price was also very budget and not to pricey ......

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Good Morning,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review . We do appreciate feedback from our guests and regard it as constructive and helpful criticism. We find that guests do see things from a different side ,in which we may have missed and contribute to improving our service .
I am so glad you enjoyed my homemade scones and jams - thank you !
We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will find improvement.
Enjoy your travellings.
Regards
Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Sherwoods Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The place is generally clean and very quiet specially at night. There is also a good view of the mountain. Wifi internet connection is excellent. Breakfast will surely fill your empty stomach You just have to buy whatever you need before you proceed to this place because the central business district is about 11 kms away

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tamayo236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Good Morning,
Thank you for your review . It is always positive to receive guest feedback , as this helps us to improve and to give our best attention to guests at all times .
Thank you
Daniela & Derek Wasley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

After a warm welcome, we were guided to our room: a nice spacy room, with a nice romantic atmosphere, due to the warm decorations in the bedroom.
The site is well located, almost on top of a hill, well outside the city.
Breakfast was rich and tasty.
A nice place to enjoy the quietness, out of the city

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marinus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good day!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . Every valuable advise that we can get from our guests is most appreciated ,in order for us to improve in our service.
Thank you again
Derek and Daniela Wasley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days with my wife, accommodation was first class, very comfortable rooms.
Had dinner for the 3 nights where 4 courses were served each time, the quality and presentation of the dishes were excellent. The owners, who also run an avocado farm, couldn't have been more helpful and gave us information that no tourist brochure would have informed you of.
The setting is stunning, right on top of a mountain where the scenery needs to be seen to be believed.
Grounds are kept well tended and the small swimming pool is great to sit beside on a nice hot afternoon with a glass of something cool.
Would recommend this establishment to anyone who wants peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Lyons,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sherwood's . Thank you ever so much for such a high rating . A lot of hard work and effort goes into making sure that our guests have a pleasant stay which is not always an easy job .
We wish you the best and hope to have you back to visit us again .
Regards
Daniela and Derek Wasley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Apart from the remote location, which makes it a challenge to get there; the place is great for getting away from the city.
A shuttle between the hotel and the nearby towns may be a good idea to relieve the travel stress.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mmamphago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Good Morning,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . The information submitted is helpful .
Regards
Sherwood's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Sherwood's Country House will not disappoint. It is as advertised as an old Victorian house and is furnished to suit the description. It stands in a small Avocado plantation (still operating) and enjoys wonderful views and beautiful gardens. The rooms are by any standards spacious and well equipped. Each of the 8 units enjoy privacy and have their own balcony where you may enjoy taking in both the view and a cooling drink. Located in the garden you will find a cooling clean pool that brings welcome relief from the summer sun. In the main house is located the "bar" , a relaxing lounge area (not really needed, your own units space is so huge) and the dining area. Food when the owner and wife are on site is first class fare but dinner must be requested giving prior notice to the hosts. We found their wine quite expensive and the hotel tariff varies dependent on where you choose to view the prices. That said we would not hesitate is stating the location is superb and the hospitality was warm and friendly. It is worthy of note that when we were there the local farmers and partners had chosen this venue to hold their year end dinner get together , I think that says everything about the food. The surrounding area has much for the visitor to enjoy, it is scenically beautiful with so many attractions in every direction.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Good day!
Thank you for taking the time to write your review .
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay . All your information has been noted .
Kind Regards
Sherwood's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandenBelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwoods3075512, Owner at Sherwoods Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
12.9 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kings Walden Garden Manor
5.6 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwoods Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwoods Country House

Address: 28 Pigeonhole, Old Coach Road | Agatha , Limpopo, Tzaneen 850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range: $91 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwoods Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Victorian country house ,situated on an avocado farm among the magnificent Agatha mountains,13km above Tzaneen .Scenic views of the Wolkberg mountains (Northern Drakensburg mountains).Surroundings :eucalyptus and pine forestry ,avocado, macadamia and indigenous plantations. 7 Comfortable en-suite bedrooms of which 2 are classic bedrooms,3 standard and 2 deluxe rooms .The private rooms lead out into peaceful gardens .Take tea in the gazebo .Fresh farm products. Facilities: scenic views, day tours around the area, swimming pool, walks in the forestry, Kruger National Park 1 hour . TGSCA 4 - star country house .Limited smoking. Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sherwoods Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing