We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location with great walking from your doorstep”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with great walking from your doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed in one of the two-bed chalets in the upper camp. The accomodation was sparkling clean, spacious, DSTV, braai place with stunning views of the montains.

No bedbugs - but one brazen baboon that suceeded in raiding four bread rolls from our kitchen whilst we were all in the chalet! Shut doors carefully when not in use!

I recommend swimming at the Cascades in the river by Mahai camp - an easy 1 or 2 km walk from the camp up river to a large swimming pool with big rocks to stretch out on.

The walking from Thendele is excellent with a large variety of day-walks on clearly-marked trails. As Thendele is about 1400m high, some walks have good views with relatively little climbing.

The shop had virtually no food (and nothing fresh) so bring whatever you want to cook with you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHANNESBURG_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    65
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We spent two nights in one of the four bed chalets in the upper part of the camp (probably worth spending a little more to be in the upper part for the views) - the view of the Amphitheatre from the chalet was really fantastic.

We found the accommodation to be very clean (no bed bugs) and we self catered (the camp shop has basic provisions, but glad we brought own). There are lots of good walks, and really enjoyed the walk to Tiger Falls (from Thendele, this isn't too strenuous but very scenic, a decent pair of shoes is a definite plus, however).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinez, california
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Thendele is located in one of the most beautiful spots I've ever seen. We were quite happy with our little cottage (number 22) until we decided to do a little reading in bed and within a few minutes we were greeted by hungry bed bugs looking for their next meal. I tore the bed apart looking for more and the sheets were obviously clean but along the dust ruffle you could clearly see blood stains. I reported this to the reception attendant the next morning and although English was not his first language he seemed to know exactly what I was describing so I don't think this was an isolated incident. We were along supplied with a portable heater that shorted out the entire unit when it was moved.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Our bungalow at the Rest Camp was well equipped, clean and comfortable. Bedrooms are all twin so not very friendly. Felt very at home here and would recommend for the sense of solitude and wilderness. Stunning views from all of the cottages. Bring your own supplies - shops in Thendele are rubbish for food but, at least, not too bad if you run out of booze!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingpiglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here - it was the best value accommodation we had during our trip to South Africa - do your food shopping in one of the big towns on the way (though there is a shop for basic provisions, wine and beer etc - the location is stunning and you're right in the park and can walk straight out on some of the hiking trails. The location is absolutely beautiful - if you're into nature and stunning scenery I can't recommend this place highly enough. The thatched chalets aren't plush but have exactly what you need - there's loads of hot water for a bath or shower after a long day walking - the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

We had a lovely couple of nights staying in a self-catering cottage for 2 in Thendele camp. The cottage was much larger than we expected - with a double bedroom, bathroom, and large living room and kitchen area. The furniture and decor was all fine (nothing exceptional, but you wouldn't expect that). The kitchen had enough equipment, but not many extras (such as a cafetiere). They also provide towels, toilet roll, soap, washing up liquid, which is useful.

The real reason you come here is for the fantastic views and walking on your doorstep and both were spectacular. The camp and all the cottages have beautiful views of the amphitheatre and it is a really peaceful place. We enjoyed watching the wildlife display outside the cottage - baboons, guinea fowl and deer all grazing and playing together!

The small shop has some basic provisions, but bring fresh food in with you.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottishKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
7.0 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
36.2 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
8.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Property: Thendele Hutted camp
Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing