We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at Thendele for the second time and enjoyed it as much as the first visit.
The views from the camp are breathtaking and they change with the time of day and the light.
Perfect for relaxing, walking and enjoying a beer on an evening. No sign of baboons at the camp during our stay.
The dam near the visitor centre is a great spot for a picnic.
Would love to return one day

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

What an amazing place, absolutley beautiful. The accommodation was excellent, very comfortable, huge lawn area for the kids to play and walking trails going straight from the house. We stayed in one of the 6 bed cottages and would highly recommend, we were a family group of 5 adults and 3 young children. Did not see any baboons which I had heard where a problem in the area. Only stayed 2 nights, would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErinLeighM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I came here in October 2012 with a couple friends as part of a 5 night, 6 day Drakensberg trip. This was the last place we stayed, and certainly the most spectacularly situated (see the attached photo). We went on 3 beautiful hikes leaving from the huts--to Tiger Falls the afternoon of our arrival (pleasant but not impressive in the dry season), a loop encompassing Surprise Ridge and Cannibal Cave (beautiful but long), and finally the Gorge (spectacular).

Our "hut" in the upper camp was great. Although more expensive than anywhere else we stayed on our trip, our unit was very clean, roomy, and well-maintained. The kitchen was fully functional and we enjoyed the back porch grill. Even though we came during the South African spring break holiday and all huts were booked, it was very peaceful, in contrast to the large campsite in the park, which we hiked through on the way back from Cannibal Cave and which had a decided spring-break atmosphere (which could be great if that's what you're looking for, but we weren't).

You should know that if you want to day-hike the Amphitheater that this is not the ideal location from which to start--you essentially need to drive out of the park and enter from another point. However, the hikes that leave from the camp are amazing in their own right, and to be completely honest the views from the huts are so great that you would be perfectly justified if you just wanted to sit on your porch and enjoy the view (+/- the company of a few baboons).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in the lower camp. It was kind of a mini honeymoon. I was not expecting luxury as I often stay in Ezemvelo places, and I have an affection for them. However, there was a catalogue of problems which just about ruined our stay. Our first chalet only had a two hot plate stove, one hot plate wasn't working. The microwave stopped working as well. The next day they fixed the stove and swapped the microwave. I noticed water coming down the one side of the building. When I reported this someone came and said the geyser had gone but it would be ok for the rest of our visit. (The water was scalding hot). About 10 minutes after he left, water started pouring through the light fitting in the kitchen ceiling. We were then moved to another chalet. This was nice as it was a lot larger and had a full size fridge, the other was incredibly cramped and hardly anywhere to store food. However, we discovered the microwave that wasn't working from the other chalet had now been put in this chalet, so we had to exchange them again. Then we discovered the toaster didn't work either. It just got a bit much and we lost a lot of time on the one day having to pack up everything from one chalet and move to another. The staff were very pleasant as always but a bit hapless. There seemed just to be one problem baboon, who could be avoided if one was aware of him (came round at evening time, when people would start arriving, and in the morning). The food preparation areas in both chalets were tiny, which is odd as the chalets were spacious. Bad design. Seems as if they think people are just going for overnight stays but it is far from both JoBurg and Durban. We were staying for four nights and did not have enough space in the two bed chalet for our meat, as the waist high fridge only had one of those internal freezer drawers. Hopeless. There was hardly any surface space to prepare any food either. Seemed like such stupid design. The amphitheatre was spectacular and the trails in good condition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saba657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very beautiful, peaceful setting. Three nights here Sept. 2011 was a highlight of a month-long trip. There is a great variety of hiking from your door. Kitchen and outdoor patio and brai. Attractive African themed rooms. The occasional baboons are entertaining - just don't leave doors unlocked or food out. Loud Guinea Fowl are colorful and fun. Even though the chalet was right behind the office/store, Lower Camp, there was quiet and privacy. Chalets only; no central dining or lounge. It cost a little more than typical for South African parks, but much less than any private safari camp, and very reasonable to a US visitor. Reservations recommended. There are several streams and rivers a short drive or hike away for wading and swimming.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in October to go hiking in the area, in one of the chalets in the upper camp. We were unsure about staying here because it was at the upper end of our price range, but it was well worth it. We had incredible views from our windows and porch, and even though there were several chalets around us, it felt quite private. The rooms were comfortable and spotless and were the perfect home base to return to after a long day's hike.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We keep returning to Royal Natal National Park. Previously we have camped at the delightful Mahai campsite but chose Thendele chalets as we had an older family member with us.
Here you have a perfect view of the Amphitheater and are right next to the start of the best walks.
As South Africans, the prices seem rather high, but for foreign visitors who are, after all the target market, this would not be a problem. Chalets are very comfortable and well equipped for self catering. As far as baboons are concerned, this is where they come from and they have only become bolder since visitors started feeding them.

Room Tip: The views are best from the upper camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
7 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
267 reviews
23 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
688 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
327 reviews
11.3 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
512 reviews
18 mi away
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Phuthaditjhaba
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing