We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“baboons aproblem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“baboons aproblem”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

what a great place , but please get rid of the baboons
why does everybody keep doors closed and sit inside \\
you can braai and sit outside for fear of baboons

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    67
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Thendele. The view from the chalets are fantastic and you really feel close to nature. There are no restaurants within walking distance but a small shop with the essentials. Watch out for baboons!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vryheid
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The chalets are basic but well equipped with comfortable beds, a tv, lounge and a kitchen with everything you could want. The views from the upper camp are incredible. The staff are very friendly and helpful as I have found to be the standard at KZN Parks places. The hike up the gorge although long is a must do for its fantastic views. Lovely little swings and slide for toddlers. Great place to sit around the braai with friends, family and a bottle of wine enjoying the view.

Room Tip: The chalets at the Upper Camp have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We visit Thendele once a year. It is our favourite place to stay whilst in the Drakensberg.
The chalets are simple, parksboard accommodation, but they are clean and comfortable.
The views from the chalets are just breathtaking - in my opinion, there is no better place to be. It is situated right in the centre of the Amphitheatre and is the only holiday accommodation in the area. Although the kitchen is not equipped with the most fancy cutlery / crockery etc., it is enough to cook a simple meal, and i would highly recommend using the outside barbeque area whilst enjoying the views.
Each chalet has a super fireplace, which warms up the chalets perfectly, and makes this the perfect spot for a winter romantic getaway.
The Tugela Gorge walk, which you can do from the upper camp, is a gorgeous walk which is "out and back". If you do the whole walk, it will take you a good 5 hours, but it is very easy to turn around and go back at any point should you not be up to it.

Room Tip: The Upper Camp has better view than the Lower Camp, however both are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Spent two nights in upper camp. Cottage had everything one could want. Take your food and drink supplies up and have a great time! When you get home, watch "Zulu".

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrank0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited the Drakensberg to get over the jet lag at the start of our trip and stayed at Thendele for three days. The chalets ("huts" does not do them justice) are very well equiped, comfortable and very aesthetic but more to the point they are right in the National Park in amongst the hills and mountains with fabulous views and great access to all the hiking trails. We had some very cold nights but you can buy firewood at the camp store so were toasty warm. A South African friend had recommended them to us and she was right.

Room Tip: The upper chalets have slightly better views (and cost a little more) although I'm not sure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was probably the most expensive and most luxurious accommodation we have stayed in during our first holiday in South Africa. The chalet itself is spacey and has all the amenities one could wish for. The lounge/kitchen has a fire place and the French windows provided a beautiful view on the mountain range. When sitting outside we had a magnificent view of the Amphitheatre and birds would come close by in hope of a share of our food. (Please do not feed any wild animals.) The rest of the chalet consisted of a bathroom with a shower and a bath and a bedroom. We have been worried that it could be cold as it was winter and the huts relatively high up. However, an electric heater and lots of blankets kept us cosy and warm even in the bedroom. I think the price of the cottage is justified for a holiday stay in this privileged location but the weather can change and when Thendele is in the clouds one cannot enjoy the beautiful views.

Room Tip: It is probably best to get a chalet in the upper camp. Arguably, the views are better from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zurpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
7.0 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
243 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
302 reviews
8.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
11.3 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Property: Thendele Hutted camp
Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing