We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful getaway from it all! We keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway from it all! We keep coming back”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We've been to Montusi many times over the years and keep coming back!
We love horses and you can ride at Montusi or at Rugged Glen which takes you on amazing trails through the National Park.

The views from the chalets are fabulous and the family is lovely and down to earth.
I note a previous reviewer listed the presence of "rich South Africans from Joburg" as a negative point.
Firstly, it is affordable to locals unlike other places and you DON'T have to be rich to go there (and I'm not sure why anyone should object to mixing with people from SA - it IS our country after all!)

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThembekaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    54
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
187
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Really perfect in every way. The service is attentive and flexible. The rooms are spacious with perfect views. The food is faultless. The location is outstanding. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It was the most memorable part of our two week stay in South Africa. You can really feel that the owners are not after your money and that they are there to serve you and make you happy. I will go back any time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperEagle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

So peaceful and relaxing with stunning views over to the Amphitheatre. Indivdual garden suites were excellent as was the food and service in general. Really enjoyable guided walk with Shadrach. Great base for Royal Natal National Park and northern Drakensberg.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed at Montusi for one night after having stayed at Cathedral Peak (we wanted both nights at Cathedral Peak but it was not available). Montusi is nicer in terms of lodging quality, but Cathedral Peak has an incomparable location very intimate in the mountains.

We had our own spacious bungalow at Montusi, the furnishings were nice, and dinner was definitely gourmet-quality. We could see the Amphitheatre from our room, and hiked Tugela Gorge. A key reason for a future stay at Montusi (or anywhere more north/west) would be to hike to the top of the Amphitheatre, a full-day hike with the trail head a couple hours away.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Montusi and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelforChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Montusi after 2 weeks travelling on the garden route. The drive from Durban was quite long but when we arrived, we knew this place was special. The welcome and friendliness of the staff really made us feel special. Our thatched cottage was like a home from home. Perfect place to explore the Natal National Park. On the last day we had a picnic hamper delivered to our cottage; we had planned to picnic by a small waterfall nearby but the afternoon rain set in early. Cindi the chef, looked after us so well and we enjoyed the food and wine. The peace and quiet of the lodge has to be savoured!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

This was a return visit but this time we travelled with friends who had not visited the area before. It was like coming 'home' and our friends enjoyed it us much as we did. The location is miles from anywhere with impressive views in all directions. The thatched cottages are luxurious, quiet and extremely comfortable with small private patios for the views to be enjoyed. You are treated as family friends and indeed the family and senior staff eat their meals in the dining room. The food was exceptional and the chef a great asset to the Lodge with her varied and delicious menus and her engaging and helpful personality. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We had three wonderful nights here. The individual lodges are extremely spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The views from each room of the Amphitheatre are absolutely breathtaking.

This is a family owned resort and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and of an extremely high standard.

We didn't make it up the Amphitheatre (don't like heights) but we did the walk up the Tugela Gorge.

Homemade cake was always available in the lounge every afternoon together with complimentary tea and coffee.

They have local girls come in to give massages to the guests - this was extremely relaxing and very good value for money.

All in all an excellent place to just chill out and relax. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
20.5 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.3 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
2.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
36.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Property: Montusi Mountain Lodge
Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and South African Hotels so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing