We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, superb food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montusi Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, superb food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had two nights here. It's well placed for the Northern Drakensberg area and is located in a lovely setting. The cabins are nicely furnished and all are within very easy walking distance of the main lodge. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandycroft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sandy,

Thanks for taking the time to share your impression of Montusi. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short visit.
We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    53
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
184
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We arrived from Johannesburg to spend our first few days in South Africa. A warm welcome from Celia in reception helped us settle in quickly and plan our three nights at Montussi.
Our thatched cottage was comfortable and the views truly spectacular. When we awoke the first morning and took our tea out onto the veranda, it was an "out of Africa " moment which we will never forget.

We loved the ambience of the dining room- high thatched roof and no walls to block the beautiful views or the sight and sounds of the birds. The food and service was very good too.

As another reviewer has already mentioned, Shadrack the Guide was a wonderful character who took us to see the San rock paintings in the Bushman's Cave and curteously entertained us all the way there and back. He also read the weather expertly and saw us home just as the lightning storm broke- and what a spectacular place to see the wonderous views of the Drakensberg from.

We have no hesitation in recommending Montussi and would love to come again.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wootton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Wootton,

Thanks very much for posting this review of Montusi. You have really pinpointed an important aspect of Montusi: the staff. We are so lucky to work with really special people. Cecelia and Shadrack have both been with us for a long time and do so well building a rapport with the guests. They (and the rest of the team) make our lives as the owner-family so much easier. Having a happy team of welcoming individuals makes it possible for us to enjoy our lodge with our guests, which we believe adds to the Montusi Experience.

We hope the rest of your South African holiday was superb.

Kind regaerds,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed Montusi. We were greatly pleased with all aspects of the lodge. Everything is first-class including food, lodging, and personnel. We hiked to the waterfall. Walked around on our own. Enjoyed massages. Rode horses. Sat on the patio. Sat by the pool. Read. Rested. And simply relaxed. We encourage you to visit this special place in the beauty of the mountains with all of its gorgeous landscapes, plants, and wildlife.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to post this lovely review of Montusi. It sounds like you managed to enjoy all aspects of the Montusi Experience! These mountains really are a special place to escape to from teh big city life and we are so pleased you were able to do everything and nothing while you were with us.

All the best for the year ahead,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
280 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Drakensberge is a paradise if you love the mountains and obviously Montusi Mountain Lodge is a perfect place to stay and enjoy life. We’ve had a nice suite with all you need, not luxury, but very good and well maintained. We didn’t expect this standard in such a remote place.

The location with direct view on the famous Amphitheatre is stunning! Food is all freshly prepared and of very good to excellent quality. Service in the restaurant but especially the warm and super-friendly support/advices of the owners is all top-notch!

Great outdoor options of all kind – for us as very active outdoor persons a true paradise!

Room Tip: All suites with great outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Montusi. We strive to provide a friendly experience and we so pleased that this was achieved! We are blessed to be situated in an area that has so much on offer in terms of natural beauty and space to take part in many outdoor activities. It is great when guests go adventuring!
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi one day.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Wake up to the birds, make yourself a coffee (in the self-catering cottages) and step out onto the patio for unrivalled views. We had a 3 day (too short) stay here and loved every minute. Self-catering cottages lack for nothing - plenty of cutlery, crockery, pots/pans, down to items that aren't often available in most self-catering cottages. Enjoyed the walk up the Montusi and the waterfall where we and our teenagers enjoyed a swim. We swam, rode horses, spent a wonderful time at All Out Adventures, read books and had a massage. Ran out of time to take a longer hike and try out the mountain bikes. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Elaine,

Thanks so much for your review of our self-catering cottages! We are always delighted to have happy guests, especially when they take full advantage of all the facilities in the area. We hope to welcome you and the family back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

If you want boisterous, energetic activity, this is not the place. Quiet and extremely relaxing, Montusi unwinds the highly strung gautenger in a matter of minutes. The very well equipped rooms with luxurious towels and gowns (I love my chunky towel!) ensure that your stay is very comfortable.

Although dinner is a set menu, there is more than enough to choose from and you don't get up hungry. The beautifully kept rolling lawns and grounds with the refreshing pool, round off a magnificently kept home away from home.

The staff are enthusiastic and really give you the feeling that they want you to enjoy your stay.

For the more adventurous types, right up the road is All Out Adventures which caters for even the most adrenalin seeking junkies. Mountain biking has come to the berg in a big way with routes running past all the major hotels in the area. There is certainly enough variety to keep you busy.

And if busy means just putting up your feet, kicking off your shoes and reading, then Montusi is certainly the place to do it.

A wonderful time out from the rat race!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
What a lovely review! Thanks very much for taking the time to share your Montusi Experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the future...perhaps to take part in our mountain biking race!
Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a location! Three days was not enough. We could not tire of the views and watching the birds.
The welcome, ambiance, hospitality, rooms and food matched the location, whilst the walks guided by Robert, and accompanied by the dog, were magnificent.

Our room overlooked the mountains. The nights were cold so the underfloor heating and gas fire were welcome. We had space to relax in our room, and also used the guest sitting-room.

The food was delicious. Though there was little choice each evening, the menu was different each day. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyrosie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review of Montusi!
We are always delighted when guests enjoy their time with us. I'm sure Joey (the dog) loved walking with you and Robert. He has gotten a little lazy these last few days when the day-time temps have been a bit too hot for his tastes!
We hope to welcome you to Montusi again in the future.
All the best,
Lindsay Du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
67.7 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
36.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Property: Montusi Mountain Lodge
Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing