We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$157
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$83
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thendele Hutted camp(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
269
68
11
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
68
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingdining roomgas firenorthern drakensbergbreakfast and dinnerroyal natal parkowners and staffgarden suitesmall kitchenettemain buildinghigh qualityswimming poollocal guidefood and wineperfect place to stayspectacular viewsthe cottages
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 349 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Short family get together .What a great place to do this. The accomodation was wonderful,we stayed in one of the self catering houses.It was luxurious and had everything we needed and more..cant wait to return for a longer stay.Thanks to Lindsay for her patience in assisting us with the booking...appreciate

Room Tip: We stayed in house nr 1..luxurious, clean,well equpped -just great
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debra312664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Mrs De Langen,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of Montusi. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your visit. I hope youwill be able to return for a longer stay in the future so that you can make full use of what the area has to offer.
All the best,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just spent a magnificent 5 days in the Berg in a self catering lodge for 8 of us. Cottage cosy, clean with stunning views of the most awesome mountains. The swimming pool area is just to die for. Thanks Montusi staff for making it so memorable especially Shedrack. He is just so engaging.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Ms Cooper,
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are so blessed to have access to this little piece of heaven. I will pass on your remarks to Shadrack: he is indeed a valuable asset to the Montusi team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Montusi in the future.
Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Been here previously and loved it. I loved the warmth n luxury of this beautiful quiet resort with a fabulous location.

Sadly I returned a year later to shabby self catering accommodation ( and im being kind)...very 1 or 2 star at most! Extremely disappointing! ! I understand that the self catering accommodation is owner dependant, but there should definitely b a minimum standard!!

If ur booking self catering please don't stay in no 3! Its aweful and completely basic!

The resort should at least be upfront about the conditions of the individual units... I would have gone elsewhere this trip n preserved my good views of montusi!

Would definitely not have come back had I been aware of the condition on the house we are in. The resort should b honest and mo
re with guests booking!

Room Tip: Self catering 6 is of a 4 star standard
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safiyyah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Owner at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Safiyyah,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Montusi Self-Catering Cottages.
We are terribly sorry that you were disappointed by this visit.

As you mentioned in your write-up: the six self-catering cottages are privately owned by other individuals and let out to the public on their behalf when they are not using the cottages. As a result each cottage is slightly different. Some have been added to to suit their personal needs and tastes.

The last time you visited you stayed in cottage 6 where the owner has indeed made some added improvements, such as two tv's, marble work tops, and an extra toilet. Had you mentioned that you stayed in cottage 6 previously, we would have made every effort to ensure that you had that cottage again!

The cost of the cottages is R400 per person per night across all the cottages. This is not a n exorbitant price – in fact for the exclusivity of a complex of only 6 self-catering cottages on 1000 hectares of pristine wilderness, it is definitely a bargain and within the norm for cottages of this standard: Three bedrooms and three bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen (with stove, oven microwave, freezer fridge and a dishwasher), private patio with your own braai facility, and a lounge with TV (over 20 channels) and a stunning view.

I agree that the lounge carpet does need an upgrade and that 2 of the three frying pans need to be replaced. The Salton toaster and kettle are functional and your fear of using them could have been brought to our attention on your arrival. We have not had other guests find this brand a problem. The linen which is used by all the cottages is spotless and of a good quality, but perhaps the night frills were not to your liking. We will suggest to the owner of this cottage that they replace the lounge carpet and the night-frills. The pillows could have been changed after your first night when you found them uncomfortable, but you only told us about the pillows upon your check-out.

In self-catering cottages it is common for cutlery to go missing and for glasses and crockery to get broken. We ensure that there are the correct number of items in each cottage. Sometimes they do not all match!

Despite the cottage not being (quote) ”better than your own home” (which I am sure costs a lot more than R400 per person per night), the magnificent views, the hiking, the horses, the safety and the absolute peace you enjoyed are definitely worth every cent!

I do hope that you will visit Montusi again when I am sure you might remind us that you were unhappy in number 3 and we will allocate you one of the others.

Kind regards,
Jean Carte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived with no expectations. This place is special. The attention to detail, in our room to the main reception. So relaxing, great views, and serious staff who went beyond the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. Great walks, wonderful scenery, and we could not fault any thing.
This lodge and staff are hidden gems. Thank you all for a memorable break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of Montusi. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
The mountains can be a magical place and we are so lucky to be here and to be able to share our lodge with others.
We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our extended family spent a week here - lovely walks, plenty to keep teenagers busy, great food and hospitality. Peaceful and serene, but with all the activities nearby, a perfect family getaway. Accommodation is great too, and staff friendly and helpful. A home from home kind of place - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilySADubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

It was such a pleasure hosting you and the rest of the family at Montusi. We always get a kick out life when guests get involved in all the activities on offer.
We hope you all had a wonderful time together. It is so special to be able to get away as a family, especially when you are scattered across the globe.

We hope you will be able to return to Montusi at some time in the future and see the summer-side of this beautiful area:)

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews