We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived with no expectations. This place is special. The attention to detail, in our room to the main reception. So relaxing, great views, and serious staff who went beyond the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. Great walks, wonderful scenery, and we could not fault any thing.
This lodge and staff are hidden gems. Thank you all for a memorable break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of Montusi. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
The mountains can be a magical place and we are so lucky to be here and to be able to share our lodge with others.
We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Montusi Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 309 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our extended family spent a week here - lovely walks, plenty to keep teenagers busy, great food and hospitality. Peaceful and serene, but with all the activities nearby, a perfect family getaway. Accommodation is great too, and staff friendly and helpful. A home from home kind of place - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilySADubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

It was such a pleasure hosting you and the rest of the family at Montusi. We always get a kick out life when guests get involved in all the activities on offer.
We hope you all had a wonderful time together. It is so special to be able to get away as a family, especially when you are scattered across the globe.

We hope you will be able to return to Montusi at some time in the future and see the summer-side of this beautiful area:)

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Family run lodge with amazing views and wonderful service. Can feel like you're driving for a long time but once you arrive then you would wish you could stay longer, This place is very special and if you're looking for a romantic few days then this is the place to stay. Excellent food and superb accommodation. You must go horse riding in order to appreciate the whole landscape and atmosphere that this place has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr Allum,

Thanks so much for writing this review and sharing your Montusi Experience. It was really lovely to chat to you guys in the bar and share stories. I'm glad you enjoyed your horse ride!
I hope the rest of your trip went well and all the wedding went smoothly.
We hope you are able to return to Montusi for a little bit longer next time!

Best regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great bungalows, amazing place, good hiking routes with nice guide, horseriding great fun, friendly service, super restaurant. The only thing I did not particularly like are the quads and motorbikes from the nearby Out door adventure place.

Room Tip: All the bungalows have a phantastic view on the Amphitheater
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippenkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review of Montusi. It seems that we managed to tick almost all the boxes for you. It is really uplifting when people enjoy our lodge as much as we do!

It is a difficult thing for all of our different companies, like our lodge and the adventure centre 4 km down the road, to manage our activities unobtrusively. The adventure centre usually keeps their quadding acitivities far from the lodge, which we will reiterate with them.

The peace at Montusi is possibly the most precious part of our product...hard to describe unless you've experienced an afternoon in the sunshine watching the birds chilling on the dam.

We hope you will be able to visit us again if ever you return to South Africa for another fix!

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The chalet's are well laid-out and super-comfortable.

There was a noisy couple who we complained about and management took us seriously on this, which was appreciated.

We also appreciated the concern the owners show for the local community. There are various initiatives they are involved in which target the upliftment of the local inhabitants of the area. Well done guys!

The sleep quality was very good - dark and quiet - however the bed, although king sized, was average for a fussy sleeper like myself. My wife didn't have any complaints about it. Thanks to all who made it so great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Peter,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that KZN's sunny winter offered some respite to the Cape's chilly conditions!
thanks also for highlighting the community involvement. It is such an important part of our operation: we rely as heavily on our community for our product as they do on us for employment.

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent an amazing four nights at Montusi Mountain Lodge. Our second visit in the last year. Again our expectations were exceeded. Cottages are laid out in such a way that each one enjoys a view but are secluded from one another. Our suite was spacious, very comfortable, exceptionally clean and well equipped. The under floor heating was bliss in the chilly evenings. The staff are friendly and unobtrusive. Our room was made up each morning while we ate breakfast. Great organisation. The views, the walks and the peace and quiet are amazing. The time we spent at Waterfall Cave was inspiring and we would love to visit it again when the stream is in flood. Dinner each night was superb, cooked to perfection and with plenty of options. Seconds when requested were served with a smile. Highly recommended for couples wanting quality time together.

Room Tip: The corner tub for two in suite 15 is magic.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan_and_Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Duncan and Marion,

It was such a pleasure to host you at Montusi again. We really appreciate your kind words both here on TripAdvisor and our Facebook page.
The peace that we enjoy at Montusi does indeed go a long way to creating an atmosphere for quality time.

We look forward to having you back sometime!

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a magical couple of nights at Montusi. The view from our suite towards the Amphitheatre is truly spectacular - the full moon rising from there was an added bonus!
Ideal break from city life: quiet, tranquil surroundings... June in the mountains can be especially chilly, so we appreciated the underfloor heating, the gas fire place and the heating in the bathroom. These little luxuries made our stay very comfortable. Also loved the tea and nibbles at 4 o' clock. Overall the food was good - enjoyed the home made bread, pastries and preserves.
We will definately return...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Lynette,

Thanks very much for submitting a review for Montusi. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. the homemade bread is also a favourite of ours! Terribly difficult to resist the temptations of fresh bread when you're tapping away at the keyboard in the office which is right next to the kitchen!
We do hope you will be able to return in the future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
250 reviews
2.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
484 reviews
3.0 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 13 in Bergville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range: $271 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and South African Hotels so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing