We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
9
14
7
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
14
7
6
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 42 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night because our friends had chosen this lodge. The room had dirty carpets, a filthy couch, the bathroom door did not close, the room smelled bad and was definitely not up to the luxury standard it was supposed to be. The staff was friendly enough and the view of the dam was lovely and it would not cost much to fix things. The breakfast was okay but the toast was soft and not fresh, but the coffee was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IT's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited this establishment on route to St Lucia. We booked a deluxe suite but was truly disappointed when the accommodation allocated to us could have been mistaken for maybe 2 star! Although the bedding and interior was clean it was definitely NOT executive deluxe.The positive side that made our stay a bit more pleasant was the spectacular views, excellent restaurant and food and the friendly staff. sorry but not a pleasant experience. I think that the establishment should either revise their rates or upgrade their rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marli001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hi There

We recently attended a function in Escourt KZN and had found Blue Haze in the midst of JHB and Durban, The ambiance and tranquil settings reminded me of my time spent in Port St Johns, this beautifully quite and peaceful place is surrounded by great views of the Drakensberg mountains and a just a doorstep away to natures splendour. My wife Ferzana and my daughter Malaika enjoyed beautiful sundowners on both days with Sunny Rays shadowing the Dam that Blue Haze overlooks, I must commend the buildings and interior of each dwelling which is maintained very well indeed and always neat. We had access to many services that one would normally not have access to. Amongst all, the visits by Shetland and normal ponies to your doorstep leaves one engulfed in the enjoyment of nature at its best. The Food is great and the Venue provides Halaal Friendly edibles as well. There is a Kiosk on the premises and very, very friendly staff that make your stay as pleasant as possible. My memoir will always capture the tranquility in my photographic memory Thank you Blue Haze we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Always choose rooms overlooking the Dam and Mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiraz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The larger rooms are very comfortable with good views of the gardens down to the dam. Lovely breakfast and friendly bar. Safe parking and friendly and helpful staff. The location of the lodge is quite difficult to find, look out for the signs off the N3 outside of Estcourt. The turn off is approximately 1km from the N3

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Beautiful rooms with an unspoilt view of the dam lends an air of serenity that make you want to stay longer. The comfortable king size bed made it almost impossible to get up in the morning! However, it wasn't all perfect - the bathroom lights and heater were not working, the cleaners came to fetch the towels before we checked out, and there were garden chairs that were missing from some of the rooms. These were all so minor issues and at those rates, this lodge was true value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msPhisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews