We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giant's Castle Camp
Nearby Hotels
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montusi Mountain Lodge(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$157
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$83
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
72
100
17
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
100
17
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain cavesmountain viewself cateringsan paintingsbird hidemooi riverwell worth a visitnature reserveoff the beaten trackenjoyable stayvulture restaurantamazing experiencea la carte menusouth africatroutquiet at nightcannot comment
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 199 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at Giant's Castle, it is our 5th visit and definitely one of our favourite Drakensberg spots!
We stayed in Chalet nr 16 and found the accomadation very clean with a well equipped kitchen. My husband is a photographer and we spent 2 wonderful mornings in the Vulture Hide, we also found all the staff very friendly and helpful.
Thank you again,
Craig and Caroline Kerr (Pretoria, Gauteng)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The self catering chalets are well appointed and spacious with comfortable beds. We found the staff friendly and helpful - it seems the KZN/Ezemvelo staff are well chosen for being friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast included was good, not outstanding, and the evening buffet we did not regard as good value. However the overall experience was very good - we would recommend self-catering. There are some excellent walks, and the San paintings are a must.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Six of us stayed in the Red Hot Poker chalet in September 2013. We loved it. The views were breathtaking, the hiking wonderful, and the Bushman paintings amazing. We saw baboons, dassies and eland while hiking. Our meals were all self catered, so we only had tea at the restaurant, but it was quite nice. The chalet was comfortable and had everything we needed for cooking and sleeping. Definitely worth staying in the park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite at Giants Castle Camp for two days. It was the best decision we made! The road to Giants Castle is not fanastic at all and we were quite put-off by it. The potholes are terrible and it will be better if it was a gravel road but once we got to the camp we forgot all about it! It was worth it! The reception was warm and friendly and we loved our chalet tucked away with a mountain/river view. It was cosy, comfortable and clean. The bed was awesome and our fireplace in the room was fantastic as it got a little bit cold at night still. The weather otherwise was great. The only thing we can recommend is that the smaller trees in front of the porch be trimmed so that it does not obstruct the view to the left of the mountain. We are not avid hikers but we were hooked! The scenery and landscape surrounding us beckoned and we could not resist! We walked from morning till late afternoon. The walk to the caves of the San people was fabulous and the walk back next to the river topped it all off! We were disappointed that we only stayed for two days and will definately be back again and again!! LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!! I am now a 'BERG' fanatic!!
Jesse & Madelaine Owens, Mkuze

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaDuPlessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This resort has lovely views, the main executive suite is huge and easily sleeps 12. The staff were very pleasant and even arranged that we go see the vulture hide at short notice. The fireplace is lovely and wood should be bought or brought with. 3 bags will last one full night. The food is fair, breakfast being very good value for money. the restaurant does not serve lunch menu (burgers) at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews