We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giant's Castle Camp
Nearby Hotels
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montusi Mountain Lodge(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$93
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$112
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
72
100
17
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
100
17
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain cavesmountain viewself cateringsan paintingsbird hidemooi riverwell worth a visitnature reserveoff the beaten trackenjoyable stayvulture restaurantamazing experiencea la carte menusouth africatroutquiet at nightcannot comment
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 199 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon sweet mainly looking for the view. Which is really brilliant. There seem to be a few other rooms with good views too although I didn't work out which numbers they were.

We stayed two nights opting to self cater for breakfast and lunch and the second evening we had a braai with the braai provided. The first evening we ate in the restaurant. It was a buffet and the food was nothing fancy but I would not find any fault in that. The kitchen staff were very helpful and they also actually cooked my girlfriend separate dishes due to having food allergies.

We also went for a walk to the bushman museum where we had a small tour. Again not a massive WOW feature but interesting in its own right.

Our stay here was definitely a highlight on out 3 week tour through SA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here recently with my wife and baby. The views from the accommodation are breathtaking and the many walks you can do from the site is amazing. We did a 14km walk to Worlds View and the view was the best I had ever had on any walk I have done in the UK or other countries. We also encountered a baboon troop enroute and it was great watching them (and trying not to be spotted by them). There were countless other walks I wanted to try but unfortunately I didnt have time.

The lodge themselves arent luxury. They have everything you need including a king size bed, satelite tv, fire, kitchen and bath with shower. You also have a braii (barbecue) on your veranda. We slept well in the rooms and didnt have any complaints about anything as everything was in working order. Just dont go expecting the Ritz and you will be fine.

The food in the main restaurant was of good quality. They have a gift shop / food shop on site that has everything you need.

The only downside we found was that after heavy rain the water can sometimes turn yellow which is off putting if you are washing or wanting a bath. We had other people in our group in other units at the same time whos water was fine so I guess we were unlucky. Also the drive into the lodges was a bit crazy as we arrived through a township when all the school children were leaving school and there were 100s of people in front of the cars and looking at us as we drove through, making various hand signals with some waving etc. We are seasoned travellers to South Africa so we were fine with it all but it would have been overwhelming to someone who hadnt experienced it before. Make sure you travel during the middle of the day or late Morning. It is nothing to worry about but the masses of people will make you very apprehensive.

Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lodge with a mountain view. Why would you go all that way and get a room that looks at a garden or something.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALT1976UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic location in the Drakensberg, some way off the beaten track. The views and walks here are spectacular. The camp is quite large with a restuarant that serves good food. There is a live webcam link to a vulture feeding area and there are 4x4 tours up to the actual location. Accommodation was a bit basic but perfectly acceptable. The San rock paintings up the valley are well worth a visit and the guide is very good. Buy a ticket at the lodge and then take the 45 min walk along the path, 25 mins if you're quick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Such a shame that this government run lodge can not even get it vaguely right.
Food poor. Bring and BBQ don't eat at the lodge.
Dirty rooms. I was convinced the sheet on my bed had not been changed. It had that slept in crumpled look and the last guest had left behind some of their rubbish.
Dated furniture, decoration and facilities.
Husband found he was missing DVDs from his bag. He did notice a zip that was fully closed was slightly open after housekeeping had been. We didn't even bother ringing them about it. We would have just got fobbed off.

Use the park but stay outside it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modernized cottages, as I can only presume the one we had was not!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Best kept secret of SA. We arrived here as day visitors to hike up to main caves to view the cave paintings, not expecting much more as most of the maps we perused stopped before Giants Castle, as if it did not exist. Well, we were so blow away by this magical, majestic place that we booked into chalet no 30 and could have stayed for another few months. Our veranda had a breathtaking view up the valley with the looming grandfatherly Giant's Castle. As a SA local I am smitten and will bring family and friends back here to dive into the champagne river, walk the beautiful hikes and dine at the delicious restaurant. The vulture hide is a one of a kind and the cave paintings inspirational. Call and make a booking with KZN Park today..

Room Tip: Nr 30 is great, plus the honeymoon room. Mountain rooms better than garden rooms. Better views and more secluded
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews