We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stoneridge Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 Gariep Dam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed over on our way to Port Alfred.
From the moment we arrived Leanne made us feel so very welcome.
The room was exquisite. Our stay was more than comfortable.
The dinner and breakfast provided in the beautifully furnished diningroom was delicious.
We could not have asked for more.
This is a B&B which offers the best of everything.
We look forward to our return stay so that we can take in the sites around the Gariep Dam.

Room Tip: Request one of the two front rooms. So that you can enjoy the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylou613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mary-Lou,

Thank you so so much for your lovely review on Stoneridge! What a pleasure to have had you here, even if only for one night! Thank you for the compliments, we hope to keep everything as comfortable and beautiful as possible, and even to improve in the future. We look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards,
Leanne & Gertjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
93
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The level of proffesionalism was surprisingly high and a pleasant change from the usual impersonal establishments we seem find ourselves. This being our second visit to Stoneridge ( and certainly not our last ) our family found ourselves still very impressed with the amazing attention to detail, not only in the service but also the decor in both the rooms as well as the dining area. The garden, though small is beautifull and well kept. There is no beter food to found anywhere in the area, chef Aubrey is a master of the good stuff. so much so that we actualy ordered our dinner ( chicken ala Aubrey) stuffed chicken before leaving home. Our first visit last year was for our grandfathers 90th birthday party which this loveley couple not only attended, but having a theatrical backround sang for the old man. Now that is truely going above and beyond.
Thank you for the memories and keep the standard, we love it.

Room Tip: Pams bay has a good view over the dam as well as bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Eddie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our beloved establishment! Seeing you and your lovely family again this year felt as though I saw you yesterday. What great memories for us as well! We love having you here and treating you and we look forward to your next visit this year!

Kind Regards,
Leanne & Gertjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Well, I can start by saying this: If you've stayed at Stoneridge, you're going to struggle finding accommodation that matches their standards.

This establishment REALLY sets the bar high.

I've booked a room in August last year, and returned once again over Easter Weekend this year. What a truly impressive experience it was with both my visits.
As requested, I checked into the same room as before (Eagles Crest). This room is sort of situated away from all the other rooms, so it really gives me the privacy I like, as they were fully booked.
My worst fear when visiting a guesthouse is hygiene. I was once again delighted with how neat and clean the room was, also the fresh smell that welcomed me.
Excellent, crisp linen and so much amenities that you just feel overwhelmed with the comfort they offer. Something that really stood out for me was the minibar, that was stocked with my favourite soft drink (as ordered in their restaurant with my first visit). Something as small as this, remembering what I drank, and then have it available in my room, not only makes it evident that they are going the extra mile, but also that they really do pay attention to ALL detail.

I have to say something about the food, as I was truly surprised at the numerous options on their menu, for a guesthouse restaurant. This is actually a Restaurant you can get off the N1 for when passing Gariep Dam. Scrumptious, great portion sizes of excellent food, truly added to the wonderful experience I had at Stoneridge.

Stoneridge is really more than just a Guesthouse, and will always be part of my traveling when I'm passing Gariep. Well done to this lovely couple in offering perfection, that is Stoneridge Guesthouse, to their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertusD873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Bertus,

Thank you so so much for your gorgeous review on Stoneridge!! It is always such a pleasure to have you here with us and we feel honored that you choose to stay with us on your visits to Gariep Dam.

We truly look forward to your next stay here in the Bo-Karoo!

Kind Regards,
Leanne & Gertjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed over at Stoneridge Guesthouse for one night in Pam's Bay room on our way to Knysna.

The decor of the room was amazing and attention to the finest detail astonishing. This was only surpassed by the hospitality. We had dinner and breakfast and on both occasions it was a gastronomical treat. The bed was very comfortable and even included turn-down service! Amenities include DSTV and WiFi.

We will definately make use of Stoneridge Guesthouse again as a stopover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jean-Pierre,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Stoneridge! What a pleasure it is to read all the wonderful feedback - we are truly overwhelmed.

We hope to see you soon again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Gertjan & Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in Pam's Bay room. Very comfortable bed, DSTV,WIFI,Fridge, two armchairs, walk-in shower plus bath tub. Attention to details v. good. Breakfast and dinner both very good, freshly cooked and well served. They had just got their licence such that we bought the first bottle of wine sold from their sensible wine list. Softly played background music from opera, concerto, showtime, jazz, blues was beautiful and Gertjan even sang to us very well one evening. He and Leanne made us extremely welcome. Thank you. Alan & Freda

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Alan and Freda,

It was such a pleasure to have you both here a Stoneridge for a relaxing 2 days! Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you one day soon again!!

Kind Regards,
Leanne & Gertjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a nice experience. I stayed in the Eagles Crest Room and after a long day the peacefulness and serenity was food to my soul.
The decor is to die for and the Guest Directory the best I have ever seen. The bits and pieces in the Directory on Gariep Dam and it's history is very helpful and informative.
The restaurant and menu is impressive and the staff was so helpful and friendly.
I will most definitely stay there again and refer my friends and business associates to Stoneridge on their way to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Dr L,

Thank you for your lovely review on Stoneridge! We appreciate all the compliments and we are only glad to have made your stay a memorable one.

Kind Regards,
Leanne & Gertjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

So rare to still find gems like these in an otherwise commercial industry; homely, classy, stylish and elegant with an eclectic mix of old-worldly opulence and modern amenities. This is the place to take in your surroundings and enjoy the Karoo for its diversity (you have the dry grassy plains on the one side and an enormous mass of water on the other side). Very much like Stoneridge- a haven for the weary traveller. We must commend you for going the extra mile and the attention to detail.

We had such a great stay the first time that on our way back from Cape Town, we opted to stay at Stoneridge again. Thank you for the warm hospitality and the friendly atmosphere...and the chats ('n lekker kuier). Amazing food!

Room Tip: Porcupine Passage Room does not have a bulcony unfortunately, whereas the others do have a little pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne Z, General Manager at Stoneridge Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Hein,

Thank you sooo much for your gorgeous review on Stoneridge!! It truly gives a smile to our hearts to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. And it was such a pleasure having you here a second time around! It really was ('n lekker kuier!)...

We look forward to your next visit in Gariep!!

Kind Regards,
Leanne & Gertjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gariep Dam
17.6 mi away
Lakeview Guest House
Lakeview Guest House
#2 of 2 in Oviston
1 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Barracks
The Barracks
#1 of 28 in Colesberg
168 reviews
17.6 mi away
Siloam Village
Siloam Village
#1 of 2 in Oviston
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Van Zylsvlei
Van Zylsvlei
#15 of 28 in Colesberg
18 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
#4 of 28 in Colesberg
223 reviews
22.0 mi away
Morning Glory Cottages
Morning Glory Cottages
#1 of 1 in Venterstad
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneridge Guesthouse

Property: Stoneridge Guesthouse
Address: 4 Kiewiet Street, Gariep Dam 9922, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Gariep Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gariep Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stoneridge Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneridge Guesthouse is an AA 'Superior Accommodation' Establishment, and is neatly nestled on the hills of Gariep Dam and overlooks the intriguing, yet forlorn valleys of the Bo-Karoo. Stoneridge Guesthouse is centrally located and the ideal stopover for weary travelers. It is situated 40 kilometers north of Colesberg in Central-South Africa. Here one will find comfortable and very well-appointed accommodation. Stonerdige Guesthouse offers 4 luxurious double rooms, each with its own en-suite facility: The Aerodrome Bay Room has an en-suite shower.The Pams Bay Room has an en-suite bath and shower.The Porcupine Passage Room and Eagles Crest Room each has an en-suite bath with a shower unit.All our rooms include the following facilities:Air-Conditioning; Electrical Blanket; LCD TV with a DSTV Bouquet; Coffee/Tea Facility; Bar Fridge; Electronic Safe; The complete Du'Val Collection with ample Amenities. Stoneridge strives to offer homely hospitality, surprising serenity, and perfect proficiency...Stoneridge also has a little splash pool in the gorgeous garden, and our renowned 'Flirting with Theatre Dining Room' personifies peacefulness. Stoneridge's peaceful stillness and serenity vows to sooth one's distressed spirit... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stoneridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing