We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful to look at but has no soul.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gariep Dam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeStijl Gariep Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gariep Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful to look at but has no soul.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 2 nights here over new year. There was nothing arranged for new year and the clientele were absolutely morbid. We left and spent the days at the resort rather. New years eve was spent in our hotel room as there was nothing arranged for kids.
For R1200 a night, the rooms are clean but we had no water. We managed to open the hatch outside and connect a tap. Toiletries are not replaced.

The restaurant service is absolutely appalling. The lady from Uitenhage helping out was so unfriendly, I almost apologised for asking if she could take our order. The food, which cost R60 for an omelette and took half an hour to arrive, was delicious. The man cooking the lamb on the spit was very friendly. They have a nice shop with good lamb.

I would only recommend staying here if everything else is full. The hotel just feels like a shell. There really is no personality here whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    102
    36
    20
    7
See reviews for
86
103
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel has all the potential to be a four-star hotel, in terms of its location, cuisine and relatively appealing decor. Alas, its staff"s conduct and attitude reduces its lustre to less than what one would expect of a 4 star. When we arrived, the hotel was experiencing a power failure. Of course, this was not the staff's fault; the issue was with how the situation was managed. Instead of trying to minimize the inconvenience to guests, the staff's attitude conveyed that they were the ones being inconvenienced and the guests just had to deal with it. This attitude continued when a bedside lamp and additional candles were requested. In fairness, the hotel should have a generator and 2 bedside lamps in a double room. Moreover,the rooms are equipped with thin blinds rather than proper cutains and therefore noise and outside lights are not reduced. This is not conducive to a restful stay.Serious training is required to instill a proper service ethic to the staff. On the positive side, the cuisine is excellent, although the waitresses ' knowledge of the product offering is also inadequate and further training is required.

Room Tip: Request a room with the view of the dam. The rooms facing the parking lot are subjected to incessant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Exceptional hotel with great ambience, food and service and awesome views of Gariep Dam. Would just suggest that travellers who are towing trailers etc are charged extra for utilising three parking bays. Also kids in dining room and pool to be accompanied by adults as to minimise noise and adolescent behaviour.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Etisalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here on a stop over on the way home from the garden route. We stayed with our two boys age 2 and 5. Rooms very disappointing, only plus point was the view of the Dam. Restaurant expensive. Disappointed after paying R1200 to find breakfast was not included. Would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseA1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on the way from CT to Johannesburg. The restaurant was very good although expensive. unfortunately the rooms are disappointing. Minamalistic extreme. No water when tried to turn tap to hot water. No proper bins. Poor light in bathroom , no hairdryer etc. Sorry but if I pay R1200 I expect better.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

De Stijl can be seen as a true gem in the Great Karoo. During my visit the four star hotel provided a comfortable, clean room with a magnificent view over the Gariep Dam. Check in was fast and efficient and I experienced the staff as friendly and professional. The rooms are fairly large and well equipped. My room had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the dam, and its a nice place to enjoy a sundowner or two. Dinner was enjoyed at the dining room and with a number of specials available, it wasn't to expensive either. I enjoyed the venison shank with chips and it was really tasty. The extensive wine list provides for every taste. One thing which attracted my attention was the beautifull flower arrangements - during breakfast the staff brought the most beautifull king proteas to the tables which really provided colour to the surroundings. I would not only recommend it as a stop-over but even as a destination in itself as their are a number of activities to participate in in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hanhattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After many years of stying at twee country guest houses i am very pleased to have found this minimalist space. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service snappy and good. I great stop over place between JHB and CT. They seem to have specials, espacilly during the week - which makes the room reasonable. Otherwise it may just be a little pricey for a quick overnight during your journey.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gariep Dam
0.5 mi away
Stoneridge Guesthouse
Stoneridge Guesthouse
#1 of 9 in Gariep Dam
154 reviews
17.2 mi away
Lakeview Guest House
Lakeview Guest House
#2 of 2 in Oviston
1 reviews
21.8 mi away
Van Zylsvlei
Van Zylsvlei
#15 of 28 in Colesberg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Siloam Village
Siloam Village
#1 of 2 in Oviston
19 reviews
21.7 mi away
Morning Glory Cottages
Morning Glory Cottages
#1 of 1 in Venterstad
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Raptor Ridge Lodge
Raptor Ridge Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gariep
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeStijl Gariep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeStijl Gariep Hotel

Property: DeStijl Gariep Hotel
Address: 2 Aasvoel Street | PO Box 20, Gariep Dam 9922, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Gariep Dam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gariep Dam
Hotel Class:4 star — DeStijl Gariep Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing